Daily News Online

Monday, 5 October 2009

News Bar Ľ

News: Govt tackles cyber crime ...        Political: Cabinet to decide ...       Business: Unit Trust stable and secure ...        Sports: Western Province emerge champs ...






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

35th National Sports Festival:

Western Province emerge champs

Western Province emerged champions for the 34th time by bagging 77 golds at the 35th National Sports Festival which concluded at the Polonnaruwa National Stadium yesterday. Central Province ended up in second position with 45 golds.

J.A.N.K. Appuhamy of Uva Province was adjudged the best menís athlete while Pramila Priyadarshani of Western Province was picked as the best womenís athlete.

R.A.K. Priyangika Madumanthi from North Central Province (High Jump) produced a fine performance to establish a new meet record and R.P.M.S. Wijeratne of Sabaragamuwa Province established a Sri Lanka record on the final day of the National Sports Festival which concluded here today.

Medals Table
			G	S	B
Western Province	77	55	50
Central Province	45	37	45
North Western Province	33	23	22
Sabaragamuwa Province	14	19	19
North Central Province	10	15	33
Southern Province	08	27	35
Uva Province		07	11	18
Eastern Province	04	04	03
North Province		00	01	01

Priyangika Madumanthi in fact improved on her own performance in the womenís High Jump final by clearing a height of 1.78 metres. She bettered her previous best effort of 1.77 metres which was set up in 2007.

The closing ceremony of the National Sports Festival took on a festive air with two thousand five hundred and sixty five athletes in attendance under the patronage of Prime Minster Ratnasiri Wickramanayake, Minister of Mahaweli Development Maithripala Sirisena and Minister of Sports and Public Recreation Gamini Lokuge.

The results of other events:

Menís 5000m (Chaminda Wijekon of Uva Province - 15.15.08 sec), Womenís Triple Jump (J.A.N.K Appuhamy of Uva Province -15.61m), Womenís 10,000 m (M.A Chandrawathi of North Central Province - 39.28.63 sec), Womenís Shot Putt (M.N.D. Muthunayake of North Western Province - 13.89m), Womenís 400m (E.W.E. Rathnakumari of Central Province - 57.87 sec), Menís 400m (Rohan Pradeep Kumara of Eastern Province - 48.84 sec), Womenís 1,500m (N.M.C Dilrukshi of North Western Province - 4.45.15 sec), Menís 110m (K.W. Salinda Randima of Western Province - 15.37 sec), Womenís 100m (D.A.H. Wijesinghe of Sabaragamuwa Province - 14.82 sec), Menís 1,500m (Chaminda Wijekoon of Uva Province - 3.55.68 sec), Womenís 100m (P. Priyadarshani of Western Province - 12.27 sec), Menís Javelin Throw (R.P. Waruna Lakshan - 64.21m), Menís 100m (J.N. Fernando of North Western Province - 11.11 sec), Womení Triple Jump (Ruwani Rubasinghe of South Province - 12.56m). Cricket (Menís) Champions - North Central Province and Karate (womenís) Champions - Western Province.


Head of Global Sales and Marketing - IT Services - MSL
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor