Daily News Online
http://www.liyathabara.com/   Ad Space Available Here  

Saturday, 16 March 2013






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

103-year-old world record broken :

Kusal blasts

289 n.o. as Colts make 519/6 :

Middle order batsman Kusal Janith Perera blasted an unbeaten 289 as Colts Cricket Club amassed a record breaking 519 runs against Saracens Sports Club on the first day in the third round Premier League Tournament match, which began at the Colts grounds yesterday.

Left handed Perera, who uses a lot of bottom hand showing Sri Lanka’s ledgendary batsman Sanath Jayasuriya’s style, struck 13 sixes and two dozens fours in the 232-ball belligerent knock. With this amazing first day total, Colts created history, making the highest total on the first day, erasing previous best score of 494 runs made by Australia against South Africa at Sydney Cricket Grounds in 1910.

Twenty-two-year-old Perera put on a record 224-run stand for the third wicket with Nisal Randika, who got out for 90. He added another 137 runs for the sixth wicket with hard hitting Thisara Perera, who smashed 60-ball 63 runs hitting four sixes and three fours.

Colts: 519/6 in 90 overs (Kusal Janith Perera 289 n.o, Nisal Randika 93, Thisara Perera 63, Rajkumar Rathika 2/38, Shashsrika Pussegolla 2/153)

Senanayake tops the bowling list

SSC off-spinner Sachithra Senanayake topped the bowling list in the current Premier League Tournament, with his six wickets against Kurunegala Youth Sports Club, who were bowled out for 164 in their Premier League match played at Welagedara Stadium, Kurunegala.

The right-arm off-spinner has captured 46 wickets so far in seven matches with six five wicket hauls and one 10 wicket-haul in a match.

Kurunegala Youth SC: 164 in 37.4 overs (Manoj Sarathchandra 44, Sachithra Senanayake 6/41, Dhammika Prasad 2/46).

SSC: 101/2 in 26 overs (Dhanushka Gunatilleke 46)

Jeevan and Sachith take five wicket hauls

Tamil Union’s Jeevan Mendis grabbed a five wicket haul against Chilaw Marians as the Marians fell for 209 at P Sara Oval yesterday.

The right-arm leg spinner took five for 53 after Tamil Union were bowled out for 156 in their first innings as Marians Sachith Pathirana bagged five for 53.

Chilaw Marians: 209 in 44.3 overs (Sachith Pathirana 61, Jeevan Mendis 5/53, Thilan Thushara 2/37, Sachithra Serasinghe 2/47).

Tamil Union: 156 in 42.3 overs (Pulina Tharanga 33 n.o, Sachith Pathirana 5/63, Umesh Karunaratne 3/32)


Badureliya SC vs SLPACC

Badureliya SC: 233 in 68.5 overs (Hans Fernando 42, Alankara Silva 41, Omesh Wijesiriwardena 3/29, Isuru Udana 2/58, Chaminda Bandara 2/66).

SLPACC: 23/0 in 4.3 overs

At Welisara

NCC vs Navy

SL Navy SC: 180 in 53.5 overs (Wimesh Wickramasinghe 50, Buddhika Hasaranga 45, Ramith Rambukwella 3/23, Chaminda Vidanapathirana 3/24, Sohan Boralessa 2/19).

NCC: 146/3 in 30 overs (Niroshan Dickwella 64, Farveez Maharoof 32 n.o, Angelo Perera 31 n.o)

At Panagoda

SL Army vs Moors

SL Army SC: 263/6 in 67 overs (Manjula de Zoysa 91 n.o, Seekkuge Prasanna 72, Vimukthi Perera 3/45).

At Rifle Green

SL Air Force SC vs Panadura SC

Panadura SC: 309 in 75.1 overs (Chandana Aravinda 77, Chamara Silva 61, Akila Isanka 3/56, T Nadeera 2/40, Pishan Hewage 2/65)

SL Air Force SC: 41/3 in 11.5 overs (Gayan Sirisoma 2/7).

At Bloomfield

Ragama CC vs Bloomfield

Bloomfield: 362/9 in 90 overs (Nadeera Nawala 72, Daminda Ranaweera 55, Sanjaya Gangodawla 50, Dhananjaya de Silva 3/96, Lahiru Jayaratne 2/50).

At Katunayake

BRC vs Lankan CC

Lankan CC: 197 in 64.3 overs (Suwanji Madanayake 4/24, Andy Solomans 3/60).

BRC: 65/2 in 15 overs


CCC vs Galle CC

CCC: 316/8 in 95 overs (Gayan Wijekoon 90 n.o, Amal Athulathmudali 77, Umega Chathuranga 4/111, Anil Rideegammanagedara 3/38).


KAPRUKA - Valentine's Day Gift Delivery in Sri Lanka
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2013 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor