Daily News Online

Thursday, 25 August 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Ex-Services News

SLESA Executive Committee meeting

Sri Lanka Ex-Servicemen's Association (SLESA) next monthly meeting will be held on August 26 at 4 pm at the SLESI Auditorium, 29, Bristol Street, Colombo 1. A discussion on the poppy project - 2011 will be held in connection to the War Heroes commemoration on November 13 at the Cenotaph, Vihara Maha Devi Park, Colombo 7.

The project aims to generate funds for welfare activities for the needy ex-servicemen.

Chairmen and Committees 2011/2012

AFRD and Poppy Committee: Major General K A M G Kularatne, Air Vice Marshal K St. Elmo Perera, Cdr. D T D Gunatilaka; Archives and Conservation Committee: Colonel G C Premachandra, P D H C A Goonawardena, Audit Committee: D M Chandraratne, F A Michaels; BOI Land Project: Colonel Faiz-ur-Rahman; Career Guidance Committee: Commander H L A R Pinto; Cenotaph Development Committee: Air Vice Marshal K St. Elmo Perera, M I M Fausi; Finance Budgeting and Planning: Lt. Colonel D M Amarakoon; Holiday Home Project Committee: Lt. Colonel V S M Jayawardena; Information Technology/Website: Lt. (S) P Jayasundara; Land and Housing Committee: Major General S G Karunaratne; Library Project: Captain T V L Ruberu; Medical Committee: Major General (Dr.) K D P Perera, Surg. Lt. Cdr. K D P Jayatillake; Media and Publicity Committee: Brigadier J P A Jayawardena, Lt. Cdr. S Sudasinghe; Membership Welfare Committee: Major General M G Muthalib, Captain G I E Cadiramen; Membership Evaluation Committee: Rear Admiral J Jayasooriya; Micro Finance Committee: Captain T B Ratnayake; New Projects Committee: Captain (N) A I Jayawardena; Policy Planning anf Formulation Committee: Major General T Paranagama; Rehabilitation and Resettlement Committee: Brigadier Hiran Halangoda; Rules Committee: Brigadier Ranjan de Silva; Scholarship Grants Committee: Major R M Punchibanda; Social Responsibilities (Environment Protection): Major V Welikala; Sports Committee: Major General L C R Goonewardena; Sustainable Development Committee: Major General P Chandrawansa Lt. P Seneviratne; Technical Evaluation Committee: Lt. Colonel D S C Ganegoda, Major M A Jayaratne; Veterans Home Committee: Rear Admiral S R Samaratunga; Welfare Grants: Brigadier T S B Sally; W W II Veterans Affairs: H G P Jayasekara; 100 Trusts Project: Captain A V Munasinghe.

Office bearers 2011/2012

Sri Lanka Light Infantry Association

President: Captain J L C Fernando; Vice President: Major S Karunaratne; Hony. Secretary: Major S D T P Ranasinghe; Asst. Secretary: V P Tudor; Treasurer: Major S K Jayaratne; Asst. Treasurer: Captain A C Ruparatne.

Also, 12 members were elected to the Executive Committee.

Sri Lanka Army Service Corps Ex-Servicemen's Association

President: Brigadier M R U Bandarathilake USP; Vice President: Brigadier R M D Rathnayake, Major (QM) C A B M Abeyratne, Captain J C S Ediriweera, D A Wanigasuriya; Hony. Secretary: D K Hemantha; Asst. Secretary: A M Wickramaratne; Treasurer: Major (QM) D Abeykoon; Asst. Treasurer: S Maharajage.

Also 16 members were elected to the Executive Committee.

Sri Lanka Ex-Air Force Association

President: D M Chandraratne; Immediate Past President: S S Gunawardena; Vice President: Group Captain K W Kirinde, G H Mihindukulasooriya; Hony. Secretary: A S de Silva; Asst. Secretary: H E P Fernando; Treasurer: G W Gunawardena; Asst. Treasurer: S M A Pushpakumara; Coordinator: Flt. Lt. T H Liyanage.

Also, 7 members were elected to the Executive Committee.

Sri Lanka Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Ex-Servicemen's Association

President: Major General MG Muthalib; Vice Presidents: Captain G J Perera, Lt. W D Sugathapala; Hony. Secretary: Lt. P A N Alwis; Asst. Secretaries: B W Karunaratne, S J Ranaweera; Treasurer: Major D K Sooriyaarachchi; Asst. Treasurer: Captain M A J Perera; Auditor: Captain D G Nissanka.

Also, 14 members were elected to the Executive Committee.

Gemunu Watch Regimental Ex-Servicemen's Association

President: Major General K B Egodawele; Vice Presidents: Brigadier R P Vithana, Lt. Col. A S Amarasekera, Lt. Col. W Wimaladasa; Hony. Secretary: U D Galgodalla; Asst. Secretary: Major W M M Wijekon Banda; Treasurer: Captain K K Samarapala; Asst. Treasurer: M S C Nanayakkara.

Also 10 members were elected to the Executive Committee.

Retired Flag Rank Officers Association

President: Brigadier T S B Sally; Founder President: General Deshamanya, J E D Perera VSV; Imm. Past President: General C S Weerasooriya RWP RSP VSV USP; Vice Presidents: Admiral D W K Sandagiri RSP VSV USP, Air Vice Marshal A B Sosa VSV; Hony. Secretary: Major General M D S Chandrapala RWP RSP VSV USP; Hony. Treasurer: Brigadier K A Gnanaweera USP; Asst. Secretary: Air Vice Marshal O D N L Perera RWP VSV USP; Asst. Treasurer: Rear Admiral A V Abeysena; Committee members: Admiral Deshamanya D B Gunasekera VSV,General R De S Daluwatte WWV RWP RSP VSV USP, Air Vice Marshal V D A Dissanayake VSV, Major General Y Balaratnarajah VSV USP, Major General T Sivashanmugam USP, Major General K D P Perera USP, Major General L C R Goonewardena RSP VSV USP, Major General W J T K Fernando, Air Vice Marshal K St. Elmo Perera USP, Rear Admiral H S Rathnakeerthi VSV USP, Brigadier N P Fernando, Major General M R W De Zoysa USP.

Help for aged, sick members

Sri Lanka Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Ex-Servicemen's Association Executive Committee headed by Major General M G Muthalib visited the homes of aged and sick members in Colombo, Dehiwala, Piliyandala, Panadura, Ahungalla and Ambalangoda and inquired into their welfare.

In the second phase of this project, 18 members visited Elakanda, Wattala, Kandana, Waikkala and Nainamadama on May 4. Transport was provided by the Regiment.

Death donation fund

A special general meeting will be held to discuss the establishment of a death donation scheme to benefit Sri Lanka Electrical and Mechanical Engineers exservicemen. Secretary Lt. P A N Alwis said that details of the scheme will be informed to all members by post.

Family get-together

Sri Lanka Naval Association 63rd mid yearly get-to-gether was held on a grand scale on August 21, at "Pradeepa Hall", Mutwal.

This was attended by a large crowd, and music was supplied by the Civil Defence Department band.


Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor