Daily News Online

Monday, 27 June 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Speed Championship 2011:

Young Madugalle drives to win a double

Young Praveen Madugalle stole the limelight yesterday at the Speed Championship 2011 Round II meet winning a double. Driving his Formula Mclarens 1300cc in the first race of the day was a clear winner getting off to a fine start from the pole position. Ryan Todd and Dharsha Pathirana were the runners up in this event. The biggest fight was seen between Dharsha and Ryan for the second and third places.

Driving in the race number II it was Praveen who had the advantage of holding on to the pole position and was the leader from the commencement of the race. Here the two runners up in this race could not pose a threat to the leader and it was Thiwanka Wijesuriya and Viren Boteju ended up behind Praveen.

Veteran Formula driver Rohan de Silva proved that he is still the best driver for the Formula 1600 pre 85 category when he went on to win the event ahead of Shafraz Junaid and Dilshan Dodanwela.

This was expected to be one of the best on the day as top drivers in the calibre of Dinesh Jayawardene and Ashan Silva was to compete. Jayawardene had the pole position and Ashan behind him. An unfortunate incident took place when going on the warm up lap Ashan crashing on to Jayawardene’s and both these two leading drivers had pull out from the race due to the damage caused to their vehicles. If not for this incident the race would have been the most highly competitive race of the day.

In the post 85 class SA Harsha raced to victory beating Susantha Gunewardene and Kaushal Samarasinghe to collect the maximum points on this day. Earlier Susantha Gunewardene won the Ford Laser/ Mazda 1300 class after a big challenge coming from Upulwan Serasinghe and UC Perera.

In the SL-GT Super Car 3500cc event saw the present leader Dinesh Deheragoda with 20 add 10 more points to his credit after winning the event comfortably ahead of Kapila Jayasundera and Nigel Perera. This addition of points has now put him to an unbeatable slot for the Championship. He too was on pole position from which he gained the advantage for his victory.

The only Lady driver competing against her opposite gender came up with one of the best performances to take top place in the Nissan March class. She was holding on to the third slot in the standings but with yesterday’s victory she also managed climb up the ladder 24 points. She had to compete against her two brothers who were also vying for honours in his category. With two events down for decision she has a good chance of becoming the champion in his class.

The two Indian riders representing TVS team had to do everything in store to record wins specially against the two Gunewardene brothers Jaden (8 years) and Aaron (7years) before winning the two events. However it was interesting to see the nine year old Jaden was ahead of the two Indians Jagen Kumar and Harry Sylvester. In the first race Jaden manged to win after a tough tussle where Jaden took the runner up while the other Indian was behind him.

The second race too was evenly contested with the two youngsters making another effort to go past the Indians. But this time the Indians made sure that Jaden will not be given the chance to beat them and controlled the race to their benefit where the Lankan lad had to content with the third slot.

The meet also saw the introduction of a special race for the Forces which was run concurrently with the Group O Standard up to 125cc class event.

The meet saw many accidents but none of the driver or riders suffered any injuries. These accidents thrilled the spectators who make their way to witness thrills and spills connected with motor racing.

More details and results will appear on later date. 


Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor