Daily News Online

Wednesday, 10 February 2010

News Bar »

News: New chapter in Lanka-Russia ties ...        Political: Parliament dissolved ...       Business: Sunshine Holdings profits up ...        Sports: Sri Lanka finish fourth at South Asian Games ...






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Parliament dissolved

*General Election on April 8

*New Parliament meets on April 22

President Mahinda Rajapaksa dissolved Parliament with effect from midnight yesterday under the powers vested in him under Article 70 (1) of Chapter 11 of the Constitution.

The present Parliament was elected in April 2004 defeating the then UNP regime led by Ranil Wickremesinghe.

The Parliament completes its tenure of six years in April this year. The UPFA came to power after defeating the UNP with 105 seats and the UNP winning only 82 seats. The Tamil National Alliance had 22 seats while the Jathika Hela Urumaya had nine seats. That election had a voter turnout of 75 percent.

The UPFA at the last General Election received 4,223,970 ( 45.60 percent) votes, UNP received 3,504, 200 (37.83 percent) while TNA received 633,654 (6.84 percent) and JHU 554,076 (5.97 percent) votes. The UPFA comprised the LSSP, CP, DUNF, MEP, SLMP and JVP in that election.

But after President Mahinda Rajapaksa was elected in November 2005 he sought the co-operation of the main opposition party, the UNP in defeating terrorism. Accordingly, 17 UNP Parliamentarians including party Deputy Leader Karu Jayasuriya joined the Government.

During the vote on the Budget in November 2007, the main Opposition party (the UNP) made efforts to defeat the Budget in Parliament.

For the first time in the history of Parliament over a thousand extra chairs were placed behind the Public Gallery to accommodate a very large number of people, said to be UNP supporters who came in during the time the vote on the Budget was taken. Amidst the tension in the House rumours were afloat that the JVP would vote against the Budget.

Anura Bandaranaike crossed over to the Opposition but when the vote was taken the Budget was passed.

After President Mahinda Rajapaksa made the decision to defeat the LTTE terrorists, Parliament continued to support the President’s policy with the exception of those UNP members in the Opposition, the TNA and a few individual dissenters.

It is likely that the election will be held on April 8 and the new Parliament will meet on April 22,2010.



LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor