Daily News Online
  KRRISH SQUARE - Luxury Real Estate  

Monday, 22 October 2012






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Senkadagala win Yasaratne Tennakoon Trophy

Senkadagala the ancient capital of the hill country won the inaugural Yasaratne Tennakoon Memorial Challenge Trophy by defeating Sabaragamuwa by five wickets in the under 15 limited over cricket tournament organized by the Central Province Cricket Association and the finals played at the Police grounds, Kandy yesterday.

The finals was reduced to 30 overs per side due to poor light conditions and showery weather conditions in the afternoon experience in Kandy these days.

Sabaragamuwa batting first were dismissed for 96 in 29.1 overs.

They were 59 for 8 at one stage and their plight would have been worser if not for a hard hit 23 by last man Disanka Ariyaratne from Hasalaka Vidyalaya (on the border of Mahiyangana) who hit two sixes and a facer.

Off spinner S Sanogeeth took 4 for 17 supported by Medium pacer Dilshan Pathirana who took 2 for 8.

Chasing a victory target of 96 Senkadagala ran into early storm when they lost their first four wickets for 17 runs.

But good batting by Kingswoods Tharindu Liyanage 47 not out with 2 sixes at 5 fours supported by Shavindra Amerasinghe 12 steered them towards victory with a fifth wicket stand of 62. Avishka Chandrasiri took 2 for 6.

Sabaragamuwa - 95 all out in 29.1 overs (Thashle Dodanvela 13, Lahiru Kumara 12, Disanka Ariyaratne 23, S. Sanogeeth 4 for 12, Dilshan Pathirana 2 for 81).

Senkadagala - 96 for 5 in 23 overs (Shavindra Amerasinghe 12, Tharindu Liyanage 47 not out, Avishka Chandrasiri 2 for 6).

Special awards-

Most Promising Cricketer - Sashmitha Waidyatillake (Sabaragamuwa).

Best All-rounder - Tharindu Liyanage (Senkadagala).

Best Disciplined team - Sabaragamuwa.

Best Captain - Viraj Gunatillake (Senkadagala).

Most Outstanding Performer - Lahiru Dharshana (Kanda Udarata).

Man of the Finals - Tharindu Liyanage (Senkadagala).

Player of the Tournament - Lahiru Dharshana (Kanda Udarata).

Best batsman - Tharindu Liyanage (Senkadagala).

Best Bowler - S. Sanugeetha (Senkadagala).

Best fielder - W. Adikari (Sabaragamuwa).

Jayanthi Tennakoon wife of former Minister late Yasaratne Tennakoon was the chief guest and she distributed the main awards with Tilina Tennakoon, Janaka Pathirana, Roland Perera, Tissa Jayasinghe, Malcolm Perera, Sunil Fernando and many others.

The Man of the Match awards in other matches were won by Thashila Dodanwela, Lahiru Isanka Watagoda, S. Tyronne, Lahiru Dharshana, Gihan Witharane and Tharindu Sanjaya.


Millennium City
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2012 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor