Daily News Online
  KRRISH SQUARE - Luxury Real Estate  

Tuesday, 2 October 2012






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Piliyandala Central take under 14 rugby title

The skipper of the central college Piliyandala b.J. dilshan receiving the Milo champions trophy from the chief guest chinthaka dissanayake (brand Manager nestle Lanka PLc). Pix by: Farook Lantra

The skipper of the Zahira college, Mawanella M.M. Uzman receiving the Plate trophy from Sarathchandra de Silva deputy President SLSRFa.

The skipper of the Sarasavi Uyana college Peradeniya c.R. aponso receiving the bowl trophy from Susantha Mendis, Secretary SLSRFa.

Piliyandala Central College gave a superb display to beat the formidable Lalith Athulathmudali College Mount Lavinia by 14 points (two goals) to nil to clinch the Under 14 Milo Trophy which was held at the Central College ground, Piliyandala on September 29 and 30.

Both teams played a terrific game but the result was in favour of Piliyandala Central who played with team spirit, who planted two tries in quick succession by K.M.D. Sahan and skipper B.J. Dilshan who played their hearts out. All scoring was done before lemons and no scoring from either side after the turn around. The Mudalians too played well did not alow the Piliyandala lads to cross the goal line after lemons.

More than 600 participants from 37 schools took part in this grand finale all Island Div 11 U/14 10 A side tournament which was sponsored by Nestle Lanka PLC producers of the nutritious drink “Milo” and organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association, SLSRFA.

The chief guest was Chinthaka Dissanayake, Brand Manager. It was nice to see for the first time two teams from the North took part in this tournament. The Jaffna Central beat two teams, Ihala Thalduwa 10 nil and Methadist College Rawatawatte 5 nil but were beaten by Mahinda College Galle 10 nil.

The other team from North was Killinochchi Combined schools.

Results: The plate was won by Zahira College Mawanalla who beat Buddhist College Thalouwa 21 points to 14. The Bowl Trophy was won by Sarasavi Uyana Peradeniya who beat Nugawela Central 7 points to nil the Shield award was won by D.B. Welegedara Maha Vidyalaya, who beat Methodist College, Rawatawatte 7 points to nil.


Millennium City
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2012 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor