Daily News Online
  KRRISH SQUARE - Luxury Real Estate  

Tuesday, 2 October 2012






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Nishantha and Yashika win Carrom Federation Cup titles

The tug-o-war between two elite slicers, Nishantha Fernando and Chamil Cooray which entertained local carrom fans in recent tournaments favoured Nishantha in the 25th Federation Cup carrom singles final as he clinched the title by beating this year's President's Cup champion Chamil Corray comfortably 13/25, 25/8, 25/14. The five-day tournament concluded at the Maharagama Sri Lanka Carrom Federation (SLCF) office recently.

Two times National Champion Yashika Rahubddha who made a surprise comeback walked away with the 25th Federation Cup women's singles title by beating number two player Madushika Kanchanamala in the final 25/14, 12/25, 25/15. Yashika has shown an impressive progress in recent times and emerged runner-up in the 13th President's Cup Championship losing against number one ranker Joseph Roshita.

Yashika, in her quest for the Federation Cup title has defeated ace players Chalani Lakmali and National Champion Joseph Roshita in early meetings to reach the final. This was the major title Yashika has won in two years and her return to the form will be a good omen for the forthcoming sixth World Carrom Championship which is scheduled to be commenced on October 31 in Sri Lanka.

Nishantha stormed the local carrom scene creating a major upset in the 44th National Carrom Championship by beating defending Champion Chamil Cooray in the final to bag the National title in March and again proved his excellence against Chamil in the quest for the Grand Slam title two months later. But Chamil trounced Nishantha in the 13th President's Cup final in straight sets last August.

Meanwhile the Federation Cup men's doubles event was won by Nishantha Fernando and B. Wickramasinghe beating M. Sherifdeen with MTM Hilmy in the final 25/10, 25/13. Joseph Roshita and Joseph Dilka bagged the women's doubles crown by taming Maduka Dilshani with Rebacca Dalrene in the final 25/23, 25/08. Kaviranga Perera beat AD Vijitha in the Veteran's final 25/06, 25/07 while Nishantha with Yasika won the Mixed doubles shield defeating Chamil Cooray and Madushika Kanchanamala 16/25, 25/15, 25/08 in the final.

Menís singles

Champion Ė Nishantha Fernando, Runner-up - Chamil Cooray, Third place - Dimal Senaratne

Women's singles

Champion Ė Yashika Rahubddha, Runner-up - Madushika Kanchanamala, Third place - Madushika Kanchanamala

Menís doubles

Champions - Nishantha Fernando and B. Wickramasinghe, Runner-ups - M. Sherifdeen with MTM Hilmy

Womenís doubles

Champions - Joseph Roshita and Joseph Dilka, Runner-ups - Maduka Dilshani with Rebacca Dalrene

Mixed doubles

Champions - Nishantha Fernando and Yashika Rahubaddha, Runner-ups - Chamil Cooray with Madushika Kanchanamala

Veteranís singles

Champion - Kaviranga Perera, Runner-up - AD Vijitha


Millennium City
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2012 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor