Daily News Online

Friday, 12 March 2010

News Bar »

News: Courts Martial begin March 16 and 17 ...        Political: Professionals for change in electoral system ...       Business: Finance companies play vital role ...        Sports: Royal in control on day one ...






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Battle of Kotte in its 34th year on Saturday and Sunday

Sri Jayewardenepura MV cricket team (from left) seated: Thilina Madusanka, Mr. Jayathileke Bandara (master-in-charge), Malitha Wickramasinghe (Captain), Mr. Jayantha Peter (Principal), Navod Kaushalya (Vice Captain), Mr. Chamara Jayathilake (Coach). (Back row from left) Iroshan Silva, Malisha Madusanka, Malinda Atale, Hasitha Samaranayake, Krishan Boteju, Sasanka Amarasinghe, Chamara Nayanajith, Gayan Devinda, Tharindu Hashan, Dulaj Madusanka, Isuru Kariyawasam, Yohan Vanhoff and Wisudda Ranganath.

The 34th 'Battle of Kotte' between Sri Jayewardenepura Maha Vidyalaya (formerly Christian College, Kotte) and St. Thomas' College, Kotte will be played at Moor's Sports Club grounds on Saturday and Sunday commencing at 9.45 a.m.

Of the matches played so far Sri Jayewardenepura MV have won 12 matches while the Kotte Thomians have won five and the rest have ended in draws. Sri Jayewardenepura last won the Big Match in 2000 under the captaincy of Vasantha Silva while the Thomains won in 2003 under Aron Jaanz.

Sri Jayewardenepura MV led by Malitha Wickramasinghe have beaten Ananda Sastralaya, Kotte by an innings and they won on first innings against Piliyandala Maha Vidyalaya, St. Sylvester's College, Kandy and Royal College, Panadura. Skipper Wickramasinghe along with Navod Kaushalya, Thilina Maduranga, Hasitha Samaranayake can trouble the opposition in batting and bowling. This year the Kotte Thomians will be led by Ranjith Peiris. They have won on the first innings against Sri Sumangala College, Panadura and Taxila College, Horana, while the Kotte Thomians who could go for big scores are skipper Ranjith Peiris, Gihan Benedict and Pradeep Ananda.

St. Thomas’ College, Kotte (from left seated) Nipuna Perera, Milroy Perera (Vice Captain), Gihan Benedict, Mr. H.L. Priyankara (Coach), Mr. Antonett Colombage (Teacher-in-charge), Rev Fr Maxwell Silva (Rector), Rev Fr Jude Nixon OSB, Ranjith Peiris (Captain), Roy Nilantha, Nishan Samarasinghe. (Back row standing from left) Ravindu Rashmika, Ravindu Kulatunge, Jude Karunaratne, Pradeep Ananda, Shavika Ushan, Malilnda Rukshan, Dilan Daniel, Randita Isuranga and Charith Kavinda.


Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor