Daily News Online

Wednesday, 16 September 2009

News Bar »

News: Over 300,000 join Public Service ...        Political: Ranil issuing false statements for political gain - Minister Anura Yapa ...       Business: Continue GSP + facility - Ceramics Council ...        Sports: Confident Lankans leave for South Africa ...



Art in short

Sam’s Story gets Penguin recognition

Having earned State Literary Award as well as Gratiaen Prize, Captain Elmo Jayawardena is no stranger to the Sri Lankan English literature.

His most popular literary work, Sam’s Story, has been published under Penguin logo, following praise from many quarters across the globe. Sam’s Story clinched the Gratiaen Prize in 2001. The book was initially published by Vijitha Yapa, then by Marshall Cavendish, Singapore in 2004 and Penguin India in 2009.

It has been translated into Sinhala with the title Sameege Kathawa as published by M D Gunasena. It has been made into a movie as well starring Sanath Gunatileka, Manik Kurukulasooriya and Jagath Chamila.

Other works by author include ‘The Last Kingdom of Sinhalay’ (State Literary award 2005) and ‘Rainbows in Braille’ (shortlisted for Singapore Literary price in 2008). Profits of all these books go to CandleAid Lanka, approved charity, feeding some poor family.

First winner of the Gratiaen award Carl Muller said:

“A vastly sensitive and gripping experience of the “other” within and without the context of the “one”. The natural response of native intelligence to forces that claw out for primacy puts the traumas of a sunburnt island into the sensibilities of the uneducated narrator. The effect is startling and, about all, near surrealistic; wholly absorbing”

It is a story told simply and with genuine concern, said Romesh Gunasekara.


Two books on astronomy

Anura C. Perera is a renowned and a tireless writer in the ‘60 s who took measures to popularise Space science and astronomy through articles published in many newspapers and magazines in the country.

Two new books by this Award Winning Science Writer ‘Astronomy-Is your answer correct?’ and ‘Space Science-Is your answer correct?’ are published and distributed by Sarasavi Publishers.

These two books will help you to enhance your knowledge about Space and Astronomy and test the knowledge thus obtained.

The books are richly illustrated with rare visuals and complete with hundreds of questions on history of the two sciences and answers on the two subject to give the reader step-by-step explanations of the developments over time.

Anura C. Perera is a member of a number of renowned Science and Astronomical Societies in the world.

He is currently arranging to introduce a new scientific concept suitable for ‘Sinhala New Year’.

Ekamath Eka Rateka script launch

Popular actor Sanath Gunatilleke who launched his first screenplay Sisila Gini Ganee will launch his second attempt, the script of his maiden movie Ekamath Eka Rateka (Once Upon A Time).

The event will take place at the BMICH on September 19. The book is a Sarasaviya publication.

“Not many screenplays of movies have been printed as books. Our scripts may not be perfect but this is an attempt at setting an example to others who are interested in the subject,” Gunatilleke commented on the subject. – RJ







Felicitating Bhadraji

A felicitation ceremony in appreciation of the prolific writer and artist Bhadraji Mahinda Jayatilaka will be held in Kandy at the Asgiriya Maha Vihara-Pirivena Hall on September 16 at 10.00 a.m.

The organizers state it is purely an admiration of the writings and creations of Bhadraji’s books based on Buddhist thought-the critical studies in translations and originals plus the novels based on Prince Siddhartha and Lord Buddha’s life and incidents. Bhadraji has already published over 20 titles.

Bhadraji is a winner of Sri Lanka’s State Literary Award for best translation: 2007 ; The Sri Lankan Sarvodaya National Award 2007 and the D. R. Wijewardana Award for the best novel in manuscript form. He has a M.Sc postgraduate degree from the Woodbury University-USA. Bhadraji is a permanent president of USA from 1973. Bhadraji Rasika Hawula-The Admirers of Bhadraji has organized the event.


Two new CDs from Nanda Malini

Visharada Nanda Malini will launch two new CDs titled Dedunu Paya and Mahagiri Arane comprising a number of popular film songs at the BMICH on September 19 at 11 a.m.

The albums will comprise 16 melodious hits each. These songs have not been included in the previous two CDs of film songs which she launched some time back. Songs like Dedunu Paya Pata Wetenawa, Hengum Wisira Dasa Athe, Ada Pamanak Nowe Apata, Kinchi Pinchi Punchi Panchi and Handa Hawun Hade will be included in the CDs. She hopes to present the CDs to eight film directors: D.B. Nihalsinghe, Wasantha Obeysekara, Dharmasena Pathiraja, Somaratne Dissanayake, Bennett Ratnayake, Vimukthi Jayasundara, Prasanna Vithanage, Inoka Sathyangani, and Ashoka Handagama at the launch.

In addition Sihina Nelum Mala a musical event in memory of the late vocalist Dharmasiri Gamage will also be held. Around 17 vocalists will perform. All are welcome. – RJ



‘Swarna Pusthaka’ a tribute to the literati

One of the key highlights of September aka the month of books is probably the ‘Swarna Pusthaka’ awards ceremony which is due to take place at the BMICH on September 18 at 5.30 p.m. this year.

Encouraging local
writers to enrich the
country’s literary scene

Five Sinhala novels which have been penned in 2008 will compete to top the list. The ‘Swarna Pusthaka’ award which had been dubbed Sri Lanka’s richest literary prize is awarded each year by the Sri Lanka Book Publishers Association (SLBPA) and goes hand in hand with the Colombo International Book Fair.

Prize monies totalling Rs. 750,000 including the grand prize of Rs. 500,000 and Rs. 50,000 each to the authors of the five short-listed novels will be presented at the ceremony. The award is presented with the goal of encouraging local writers to enrich the country’s literal scene with meaningful creations.

The five novels short listed this year had been chosen out of 76 pieces of literary work. The jury is chaired by Professor Tissa Kariyawasam.




Contenders for ‘Swarna Pusthaka’ 2009

Sathyakama by Kathleen Jayawardena (M.D. Gunasena)

E Pura Rejayoo Eya by Chandrasiri Palliyaguru

(S. Godage and Brothers)

Andakara Tharakawa by Karunadasa Sooriyaarachchi

(Dayawansha Jayakody and Company)

Podu Purushaya by Sunethra Rajakarunanayake

(Sarasavi Publishers)

Bora Thel by Ven. Batuwangala Rahula Thera

(Sadeepa Prakashana Mandiraya)


<< Artscope Main Page


Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor