Daily News Online

DateLine Monday, 21 April 2008

News Bar

News: Hopes rise for cheaper gas ...        Political: Parties map out strategy for Eastern stake ...       Business: SL Insurance splits up ...        Sports: Dilshan dies on race track ...






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Serasinghe drives to win five events

Gayan Best rider, Aravinda best driver at Fox Hill Super Cross:

Upulwan Serasinghe the driver who has in the limelight in Ford Laser category for the past few seasons proved that he is a champion in this class when drove the his vehicle to win four events at the Fox Hill Super Cross on Saturday at the Diyatalawa circuit.

The event organized by the Sri Lanka Military Academy and was conducted by Sri Lanka Association of Racing Driver and Riders (SLARDAR).

The day belonged to Serasinghe saw him win the SL-N cars event to take the start for the day. He was in front from the start and was chased by Lalin Kirindee, but the race could not be taken away from at any stage and was a clear winner. Searasinghe went on to make it a double for the day winning his next event the 1600 cc class with much ease.

This time it was Nishan Wasalathanthri who was trying to stop Serasinghe's forward march. Though Nishan tried everything in store it was the leader who took the chequered flag first.

Serasinghe could not make it three in a row when he was beaten in the 10-12kg class event. Pradeep Wijesiriwardene taking the advantage to by getting that much needed fine start to over ride Serasinghe. The lead that he got was quite sufficient for him to keep Serasinghe in to second slot.

Serasinghe the man for the Ford Laser/ Mazda 1500 cc event once again came to limelight starting off from the pole position to go for his third win for the day. Here it was Annesley Perera who made things harder for the leader keeping his vehicle right behind. Perera finished as the runner up.

Serasinghe entered the track for the fifth time on this with the intention of recording the victory which too he achieved with ease once again ahead of Nishan. Serasinghe was the man in front and never allowed other drivers go past at any stage of the race.

Serasinghe made it five wins taking the next race he competed in the 1500cc Class. Annesley Perera and Duminda Jayasinghe were the others who made an attempt to challenge Serasinghe all the way.

Aravinda Premadasa was declared the Fox Hill Super Cross Champion for the year 2008 for his achievements in the GT 3500 cc Class. He won both events worked off on this day for this class.

Aravinda has won this champions trophy for the sixth year to make it a record the Super Cross. In fact he is the driver to receive SLARDAR championship on many occasions.

This year he did not have much of a competition coming from Dinesh Deheragoda and Dinesh Jayawardene in this race. Latter Jayawardene did not participate in this year's events. It was Young Pasindu Pieris and Reyaz Farook who were engaged in a battle to pose a threat to Aravinda.

The other drivers to register victories at this meet were S.A. Harsha, In the Nissan March Category, Sasitha Gunawardene Mini up to 1000 Class, Samantha Gunawardena Mini Class up to 1050cc and W.A.G. Rangana 1400cc class.

The motor cycle events as expected thrilled the spectators to their maximum with the ace Super Cross Rider Gayan Sandaruwan giving everyone his best to keep them on their toes. Gayan riding in the racing class for bikes up to 250cc won both events after many mishaps. In the first it was a bad start that kept him behind Pasindu and Tuan Ossen with Gayan trailing at sixth position. But it was his skills and experience on this track came in to good use for him.

Gayan chasing from behind caught the top three riders on entering third lap but disaster struck while trying to go past Pasindu and had a nasty fall negotiating a bend.

This put him back once again. Never say die Gayan was back on the track chased once again and came close to Pasindu. Gayan as usual made the maximum while doing the biggest jump and got past his rival while in air. From there onwards none could get closer to him. Gayan finished as the clear winner.

Gayan coming on to the round two of the same event once again was in trouble at the start but soon after completing the first lap he was back on his usual form and kept on moving smoothly to go past riders one by one until he reached fourth lap.

Once that was done it became that no one over ride him in the race. Kevin Buultjens who was never in the picture did a great run to secure the slot ahead of Ossen. Pasindu could not finish the event due to few problems.

The Young lad from Kurunegala who came to lime light last year as a junior rider did a wonderful show in controlling his 125 cc bike to win the Group MX Racing motor Cycles event. He was closely followed by Sudesh Nilanga and Harshana Kandearachchi.

Col. Wasantha Madola the reputed serviceman from the Sri Lanka Army went away with the T&J Jeep event, while Sheran Fernando who is famous for 4X4 Challenge chasing all the way to secure the second slot. But the second race in the same class saw Dinesh Senanayake take the better of Col. Madola and Sheran Fernando.

The full results will appear shortly.


Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
Ceylinco Banyan Villas

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2006 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor