Daily News Online
http://www.liyathabara.com/   Ad Space Available Here  

Friday, 22 March 2013






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

At SSC Grounds, Colombo today and tomorrow :

Isipathana - Thurstan clash for 50th time

The 50th edition of the much awaited annual big match between Thurstan College and Isipathana College for the Blackham Wijewardena trophy will take place today and tomorrow at Singhalese Sports Club (SSC) Grounds Colombo.

The Isipathana College under 19 first XI squad

The Thurstan College under 19 first XI squad

However, this encounter will be a special occasion to both schools not only the golden jubilee celebration of the battle,but also a celebration of the 50 year long brotherhood between the two schools.

The history of the big match goes back to year 1964.There was only one interruption, that was during 1971 due to insurrection. Thurstan College leading in the big match tally with five wins while Isipathana have won four encounters.

Thurstan College recorded the highest score in their big match history with a gigantic 347 runs in 1983 while Isipathana College recorded their highest score of a mammoth 328 runs in 1956.

Isipathana last won in 1999 and thereafter it has been a series of draws.The highest individual score in the series stands to the credit of Saman Nishantha of Isipathana (150 n.o) in 2002. He surpassed the 146 n.o. by left-hander Kamal Mahendra of Thurstan in 1990.

The best bowling performance in the series is by left-arm medium-pacer Jayajeeva Karunaratne who took 7 for 28 in 1992. Isipathana’s K.L.S.K. Sirisena too took 7 for 79 in the 1967 ‘big match’.

The Thurstanite squad will be spearheaded by fourth year coloursman and all rounder Ramindu Kumarasinghe who has surpassed the 1000 run mark for the current season.Apart from that he claimed 40 wickets this year.

Third year coloursman and left arm leg spinner Rajitha Perera will be his deputy who has captured more than 70 wickets. Kavindu Kulasekara, a right hander is useful player who has passed 750 run mark.Minhaj Jaleel is also another valuable asset to Thurstan lads who has scored 650 runs.Also he took thirty scalps.

Isipathana will be led by third year coloursman Deshan Jayakumar who scored a fine century in last year's battle.Third year player Chenutha Wickramasinghe (600), second year player Salinda Ushan (500) will be the key batsmen for Isipathana. The spin duo of Chamara Dissanayake and Tharindu Thabrew will power Isipathana bowling.

Thurstan: Ramindu Kumarasinghe (Captain), Rajitha Perera (Vice Captain), Minhaj Jaleel, Kavindu Kulasekara, Tharindu Silva, Thimira Jayasinghe, Charana Nanayakkara, Avishka Peiris, Sahan Hewavitharana, Achintha Kalpana, Raveesha Lokuge, Shenal Wijesinghe, Pramod Gunawardena, Sahan Dassanayake, Udara Malwalage, Chinthaka Udaya, Sanjeewa Silva(Coach).

Isipathana: Deshan Jayakumar(Captain), Malin Dias(Vice Captain), Matheesha Ranaweera, Chenutha Wickramasinghe, Kaminda Dananjaya, Salinda Ushan, Ramitha Sandaruwan, Kelum Bastiansz, Dilan Punchihewa, Chamara Dissanayake, Thenura Ranasinghe, Tharindu Thabrew, Umesh Ranasinghe, Sahan Weerakoon, Sundara Dhakshika, Davis Umesh, Bradman Ediriweera (Coach)


KAPRUKA - New Year Gift Delivery in Sri Lanka
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2013 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor