Cech adamant over Carroll goal-line drama
Chelsea keeper Petr Cech was adamant he had saved Andy Carroll's late
header as the issue of goal-line technology reared its head once more at
the FA Cup final on Saturday. Liverpool striker Carroll was denied what
would have been a dramatic equaliser on 82 minutes when his close-range
effort was parried against the underside of the bar by Cech before being
cleared to safety.
Carroll wheeled away to celebrate but referee Phil Dowd checked with
his assistant and ruled the ball had not crossed the line.
Television replays of the incident proved inconclusive but the
incident is certain to fuel calls for the introduction of goal-line
Cech however was certain the match officials made the right call.
"I don't think it [Andy Carroll's header] was over the line. If the
ball was behind the line I couldn't have put it out," Cech told the BBC.
"I'm sure it was not behind. I haven't seen it but I'm persuaded it
wasn't in and I knew it from the first moment," added Cech, who is now
looking forward to the Champions League final against Bayern Munich on
"It's fantastic what we've achieved and still have one more final to
go and hopefully we can make it two. I've won it for the fourth time and
it doesn't matter how many times you win it the atmosphere is always the