Daily News Online

Saturday, 16 July 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Could CR and FC overcome Kandy SC today?

Could CR and FC overcome the mighty Kandy SC and stay in contention for the Caltex A Division League Rugby Title?. The answer to this question will be found only this evening when these two teams clash in their Calex A Division League Rugby match at Longden Place.

Kandy SC have beaten Havelocks (18-13), Army (51-6), CH and FC (41-19), Air Force (18-11), Police (22-11) and Navy (15-12) while the Red Shirts have overcome CH and FC (14-8), Havelocks (15-10), Army (24-12) and Air Force (27-22) but were beaten by Police (10-11) and were also held to a 18-all draw by Navy.

CR and FC have made two changes for todays game. Former Kingswoodian Mohamed Rizwan comes into the team replacing veteran hooker Anuja Perera while Hasitha Perera has been brought into the second row to bind with Ishan Noor. Kandy SC will field the same team which did duty for them last week. Skipper Buddhika Thalagampola is still on the injured list and Aravinda Udangawa will retain his place as a flanker.

Last year Kandy SC won the first round game at Nittawela by 26-12 while in the return match at Longden Place CRs winger Vishwamithra Jayasinghe scored a scintillating try after a 80-metre run in injury time to give them a 16-14 win but were edged out by Kandy SC to the league title having obtained 35.50 points in 10 outings to CRs 35.00 points to retain the title for the 10th successive year.

According to an official of CR and FC there will not be a live telecast of todays match on Rupavahini. Deputy Chairman of John Keells Holdings Ajit Gunawardena will be the chief guest while former CR and Sri Lanka skipper Dr Indrajith Coomaraswamy will be the Guest of Honour.

The teams:

CR AND FC: Shehan Dimitri, Mohamed Rizwan, Dunstan de Silva, Hasitha Perera, Ishan Noor, Chilanka Samaraweera, Sharo Fernando, Dushanth Lewke (captain), Srinath Sooriyabandara and Reza Mubarak, Ashan de Costa, Mushin Faleel, Shabbir Mohamed, Vishawamithra Jayasinghe, Mohamed Sheriff.

KANDY SC: Kishore Jehan, Achala Perera, Kasun Yasaisuru, Dinesh Sanjeewa, Senaka Bandara (captain), Kasun de Silva, Aravinda Udangawa, Sajith Saranga, Roshan Weeraratne and Fazil Marija, Sanjeeva Jayasinghe, Pradeep Liyanage, Gayan Weeraratne, Mohamed Jabbar, Tharindu Chanaka.

CH confront Air Force

CH and FC which scored a morale-boosting 48-15 win over Army last week will be brimming with confidence when they play host to Air Force in their Caltex A Division League rugby match at Maitland Crescent today.

The lads from Maitland Crescent propelled by the Fijian duo of Timoci Ratudradra and Iliesa Salusalu ended their barren run with a dazzling display last week and should give a close run to the Airmen who have registered two wins over Police (18-12) and Army (53-13) in six outings.


Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor