Daily News Online

Tuesday, 22 March 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Battle of two cities on March 25 and 26

Rahula, Matara vs St Aloysius, Galle which is known as the Battle of Two Cities will be played at Matara Uyanwatta Stadium on March 25 and 26. This is the eighth encounter between these two colleges. In 2004 and 2005 Rahula won on first innings and managed to keep the challenge trophy.

St Aloysius College Cricket team
(Seated from left) M U L Priyantha Prasad (Coach), R P Sarath (Assistant Principal, Sports), E O P L S Gunasekara (Principal), S P Malan Madusanka (Captain), P Y Wijesekara (Vice Captain), R P Soysa (MiC for Cricket). Second Row (From left) H G Nilanduwage, W M K Santhusha Wijesekara, P H Thilan Madushan, K G Chathura Madushan, M A Lakshan, Mendis I Dimithu, Sandaruwan N Danushka, Malan N B Samarakoon, D H G Palihapitiya.
Third Row (From left) D A Nilanduwage, S A Ruchira Sandakelum, K M Chamika Nimantha, G V Chanaka Danushka, G H L Sampath Wijeratna. Picture - A W Gunawardhana
Matara Central Corr.

St Aloysius lead one nil in the series winning in 2008 under the captaincy of Dimudu Jaytilleke. Six encounters were drawn with St Aloysius gaining first innings win on four occasions and Rahula on two occasions.

This year St Aloysius College playing in the Under-19 tournament lost outright to St Sebastian's Matara, De Mazenod College Kandana, Royal College Colombo and St Benedict's College Kotahena. St Aloysius lost on the first innings against Isipathana and Moratu Vidyalaya. Matches against Holy Cross College, Kalutara and St Peter's College Bambalapitiya ended in no decision.

St Aloysius is led by all-rounder B P Malan Madusanka. The Vice Captain of the side is D Y Wijesekera.

Krishan Santhuska Weeraratne is the leading batsman in the St Aloysius team. He also performed as a bowler. P H T Madushan is also an all-rounder.

This year Rahula College playing in the Under-19 cricket tournament conducted by the Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association won outright against Taxila MV Horana and Vidyartha College Kandy. Rahula won on first innings against Wayamba Royal College, Sri Dharmaloka College Kelaniya and Carey College Colombo. Rahula College played with Sri Sumangala College Panadura which was drawn because of bad weather (rain) and lost to St Anthony's College Wattala on the first innings.

Rahula College Cricket Team
Seated (from left) - Sukitha Danushanka, P A Ekanayake, K G Karannagoda, Praseka Gamage (Captain), Percy Ranaraja (Prefect of Games), Nimal Dissanayake (Principal), Indunil Liyanage (Master In-charge), Charith Sanjeewa Palliyage (Coach), Rusiru Uyanhewa (Vice Captain), Nadun Tharanga, W K Kerthiwaduge. Standing (from left) - Guera Hasanga, P A Dias, M W Sameera Chathuranga, P T Kulatunga, S S Galappatti, Maduranga Rajapakse, T B Marasinghe, M R Galappatti, Vimukthi Madushan, Thilina Kasun, Lasindu Nimsara.Picture by A W Gunawardhana

The matches against St Sylvester's Kandy, Dharmaraja College Kandy, Sri Devananda Vidyalaya Ambalangoda and St Thomas, College Matara were drawn.

Prasadika Gamage leads the Rahula College team. He is a right handed batsman and is close to the 500 run-mark this season. He is a right arm leg-spinner. The Vice Captain of the team is Rusiru Uyanhewa who has taken 33 wickets this season. Prasanna Ekanayake, former skipper is an all-rounder.

He has scored two centuries and four half centuries. He has scored over 600 runs this season. Nandun Tharanga is also a centurion of this team.


Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor