

Sri Lanka Navy team winning the mens club 4x200 metres final with a new meet record of 1 minute 25.2 seconds. *Pictures by Ranjith Asanka*

இலங்கைவங்கி

Nayomi Jayasundara of Ratnayake Central, Walala receiving their trophy for the Overall Girls' Championship from Bank of Ceylon Deputy General Manager (Corporate and Offshore Banking) D P K Gunaseakera.



Aloka Fernando (left) and Lahiru Fernando of Maris Stella College raising the Overall Boys' Championship trophy after receiving it from D P K Gunasekera, Deputy General Manager, BOC. Palitha Fernando, the president of the AASL and Susantha Fernando, Athletic coach of Wattegama Division are also look in.



Maliyadeva College, kurunegala team (#15) finishing the 4X200 boys under 16 relay in style, clocking 1 minute 37.65 seconds ahead of maris Stella College Negombo and Dharmaraja College Kandy.



Joseph Vaz College Wennappuwa (#48) in the lead in the boys under $18\ 4x200\ metres$ final

he Annual Relay Carnival conducted by the Athletics association of Sri Lanka (AASL) and sponsored by Bank of Ceylon was held at the Diyagama Mahinada Rajapaksa Stadium which was a great success. Bank of Ceylon Deputy General Manager (Corporate and Offshore Banking) D P K Gunasekera was the chief guest at the event.

Two new national records and six new meet records were bettered at this year's carnival. Army SC won the overall inter-club men's championship with 47 points while Navy with 43 points was placed second. Air Force collected 29 points to win the third place. Army SC athletes established both national records that were set in the event by clocking 15:52.99secs in the 4x1500m men's relay and 7:33.13secs in the men's 4x800m relay events.

In the women's category Air Force collected 50 points to win the inter-club overall championship beating Army who claimed 41 points and Navy with 30 points to second and third places respectively.

Maris Stella College Negombo won the schools overall boys' championship with 85 points while overall girls' segment of the schools championship was won by Ratnayake Central Walala who finished with a staggering of 111 points.

