Daily News Online

Friday, 19 April 2013






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

One hundred and fifty competitors for Nuwara Eliya Road Race

One hundred and fifty entries have been received for the Nuwara Eliya Road Race organized by the Sri Lanka Motor Cycle Club (SLMCC) which will be worked off around the lake circuit in Nuwara Eliya on Sunday April 21st commencing at 8 am.

The breakdown of the entries is 90 motor cycles and 60 cars which is a major achievement for the club which has been conducting this event for over 60 years except for a few years due to poor track conditions and also for security reasons when approval could not be obtained.

To the credit of the club it must be mentioned that conducting of this race in the heart of Nuwara Eliya City during the peak of the Holiday Season is a Major achievement for the club. This is a reflection of the hard work and dedication of the officials of club which is based in Colombo and had to make several visits to the venue of the race which is located 180 kilometre away... green light had to be obtained from several places like the Police, District Secretary, Municipality, Road Development Authority, Defence Ministry and finally the governing body for Motor Sports SLAS for permission for the conducting of this race. It is no easy task as these departments look into many aspects including the safety of the public before approval is granted. Competition and motor racing fans should be aware of the hard work put by the officials, who perform these tasks for the love of it and also provide entertainment for the holiday makers.

The organizers have added a new event for this years race which is the Yamaha 150cc standard motor cycles.

The one make Subaru Legacy event for motors off last will be there this year.

A total of 13 events will be worked off – 6 in motor cars category and 7 for motor cycles. The event lined up are.

[Motor Cars]

Group SL-N Cars upto 1000 cc
Ford Laser/Mazda 1300 cc
Ford Laser/Mazda 1500 cc
Mini 7 upto 1000 cc
Subaru Legacy Non Turbo 2000 cc
Group SL-A Modified upto 1050 cc

There is a restriction on the modified cars to 1050 cc in keeping with the track conditions which will have “no over taking zones” and “Chicanes” placed at certain points to reduce speed in the best interest of all concerned.

But it must be remembered that in the good old days there were events for formula cars too at this race but later discontinued as the authorities felt it could be dangerous.

Some of the top drivers who are expected to be in action are Maestro Rohan de Silva, Dinesh Jayawardena, Shehara Jayawardena, Dilan Senaviratne, Upulwan Serasinghe, Shantha Suraweera, Sachith Pathirana, Lakmal Wijeratne, Dammika Peiris, Kushan Peiris, Hafiz Cader, Kandan Parameswaran, Mahen Madugalle amongst many others.

A major attraction of the cars will be National Champion for cars 1300 cc and 1500 cc events Upulwan Serasinghe whose dare devil driving could thrill the crowds and his Ford Laser will be eying these two events in his guest for these two championship title this year too.

[Motor Cycles]

The Motor cycle events which will be worked off are.

One make Yamaha 150 cc std. Standard 125 cc (2 ST and 4 ST)
Racing Modified upto 125 cc
Super Motard upto 600 cc
Super Motard upto 250 cc
Super Motard 450 cc

Some of the top riders who are expected to compete are Shane Silva, Ramal Pathiratne, Krishan Dias, Maduranga Caldera, M Umer, Shrian Samuel, Vikum Ranjith and many others.

Veteran rider from Nuwara Eliya Vikum Ranjith will be nearing his 30th year of colourful motor racing and will be one of the senior riders who will be participating.


KAPRUKA - New Year Gift Delivery in Sri Lanka
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2013 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor