

Minister Dinesh Gunawardena releasing birds. Picture by Mohamed Imithiyaz, Colombo Central Thinakaran

# Minister celebrates birthday

MOHAMED IMITHIYAZ
Colombo Central Thinakaran

Water Supply and Drainage Minister Dinesh Gunawardena's 64th birthday was celebrated at the ministry recently.

Milk power distribution to mothers and releasing of birds were carried out by the ministry employees to mark the minister's birthday. Parliamentarian Shirani Wijewickrama, Prof J B Dissanayaka, Secretary A Abeygunasekara, Additional Secretary Sarath Vithana, Maharagama Divisional Secretary Buddhi Tharanga and other officials participated.



Corporate and Offshore Deputy General Manager Dayani Fernando handing over a souvenir to a pensioner at Shrama Abhimani 2013 Awards Ceremony organised by the Metropolitan Branch. Assistant General Manager Wasanthi Hettihewa and Chief Manager S Adhikari look on.

## YMBA schols for university students

The annual Scholarships Award Ceremony of Colombo YMBA for university students was held on February 9 at the Borella YMBA main hall.

Sabaragamuwa University Vice Chancellor Prof Mahinda S Rupasinghe was the chief guest. The welcome address was delivered by Colombo YMBA Vice President and Trust Fund's Secretary M Ariyaratne. YMBA President Suren goonasekera addressing the gathering explained the significance of this project and advised recipients to get ready for the challenges in the employment sector in today's competitive world. Prof Rupasinghe said university students should be equipped with a good moral standard and leadership qualities, and be ambitious.

General Secretary Sumedha Amarasinghe proposed the vote of thanks.



An undergraduate receiving the sponsorship cheque from Prof Mahinda S Rupasinghe. YMBA President Suren Abeygoonasekara and M Ariyaratne were also present.



The Batch of 1983 of St Benedict's College presented a cheque of Rs 500,000 to College Director Rev Bro Janaka Fonseka to help build a classroom to mark their 30th anniversary since leaving college. The cheque was presented on March 1 at a college assembly. The building project is undertaken by the Welfare Society of the school.

#### New Mediator Officer



Al Haj Mahamath Tuan Ariffeen is appointed as a Mediator Officer attached to the Colombo Administrative Division of the Colombo District Secretariat.

He is a life member of the Sri Lanka United Malay Organisation (SLUMO) and a Board Member of the Sri Lanka Islamic Centre, Colombo 10.

He is also a social worker.



A student of Thambiluvil Central College, P. Uvenika who won the 1st place in the Eastern Province in Bharatanaatya, showed her talents in the mobile service programme of the Thirukkovil Police. *Picture by M. M. Ismail, Akkaraipattu spl corr* 

### **New JP**



Mohamed Masahir Mohamed Fayas took oaths as a Justice of the Peace for the Kalutara Judicial District before Kalutara Additional Direct Judge H M Bharathi Rasajana Wijeratne.

#### Colombo Medical School Alumni Association, University of Colombo Office bearers 2012/2013

President: Dr J B Pieris, President elect: Prof Lalitha Mendis, Vice Presidents: Dr Dennis Aloysius, Dr Sarath Gamini de Silva, Prof Ravindra Fernando, Co-Secretaries: Dr Piyusha Atapattu, Dr Wamalasena, Deepa Treasurer: Prof Jennifer Perera, Assistant Treasurer: Dr Romaine Perera, Editor: Dr B J C Perera, Assistant Editor: Dr Chandra Jayasuriya, Social Secretary: Dr Saro-

ja Siriwardene, Immediate Past President: Prof A H Sheriffdeen, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Colombo, Prof Rohan Jayasekara, Committee members: Prof Athula Kaluarachchi, Dr K Rajendra, Dr Lakshman Abeygunawardene, Prof Saman Gunathilake, Dr G Shanthilal de Silva, Dr Champa Nelson, Dr Philip Veerasingam, Dr Shiranee Goonawardena, Dr Nanda Amarasekera and Nipun Silva.

#### Kalutara District Journalists' Association Office bearers 2012/2013

President: Daya Wijerathne (Lake House), Secretary: Kulasiri Amarasinghe, Treasurer: Samson Premasiri, Vice President: Kapila Kulasinghe, Vice Secretary: Janaka Chaminda, Organizer: Sarath Siriwardhana. Committee Members: Milton Dharmasinghe, Somarathna Poddeniya, M S M Adram, N Jayarathnam, Chandra Sri Perera, Chandana Sri Kottegoda and Wilson Wijeratne.

A felicitation ceremony for elders jointly organised by the Human Rights Commission and the Grandpass Police was held at the Grandpass St Joseph's College premises recently. Here, Human Rights Commissioner Director General Dr N M M Azeem who was the chief guest having a word with an elder after handing over a gift parcel. The programme also included a health camp and a treat to the elders.

#### Dehiowita Ayurveda Sanrakshana Mandalaya Office bearers 2012/2013

Patrons: Dehiowita Susilodaya Pirivena Principal Ven. Hewanpola Wimalawansa Thera, Dehiowita Divisional Secretary Ayur Dr. M. M. Ershad, Traditional Ayur Dr. P. K. E. S. Dambedeniya JP. President: Ayur. Dr. L. P.

Samaranayake, Vice President: Ayur Dr. Udhaya Samarasinghe, Assistant Secretary: Ayur Dr. Kalyani Amarasinghe, Assistant Secretary Ayur Dr. P. G. Sumanathilake, Treasurer: Ayur. Dr. Indumathi Yasawathy.Committee members: Ayur. Drs. I. Martin, M. P. Wijeyaratna, W. G. Dingiri, U. A. Dharmasiri, H. G. Gunawardena and Sheela Kumari Aththanayake.