Daily News Online
http://www.liyathabara.com/   Ad Space Available Here  

Monday, 24 December 2012






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Navy’s Subash wins Mr Sri Lanka title

Subash Siriwardena of Sri Lanka Navy emerged the Mr Sri Lanka 2012 while his team mate W A D Chanaka Peter was adjudged the runner up at the 65th Mr Sri Lanka contest worked off at the BMICH yesterday. Udara Mendis of Sri Lanka Air Force grabbed the third place. The contest consisted of eight weight categories from 55 Kg to over 85 Kgs. Subash also won the award for best poser and became the champion in the 75 Kg category.

Chief guest Re-settlement Deputy Minister Vinayagamoorthy Muralitharan congratulating Mr Sri Lanka Subash Siriwardena of SL Navy (center). Silver medalist W A D Chanaka Peter of SL Navy (extreme left), SLBBFF President Kapilakumara (second from left),Sports Development Department Director general Ranjani Jayakody (fifth from left) and Bronze medalist Udara Mendis of SL Air Force (extreme right). Pictures by Ranjith Asanka

Subash Siriwardena

The preliminary rounds of the event organized by the Sri Lanka Body Building and Fitness Federation had been conducted at the same venue yesterday morning while the final round was held under the patronage of Resettlement Deputy Minister Vinayagamoorthy Muralitharan as the chief guest.

Body builders from the Sri Lanka Air Force dominated the event as they grabbed most of the gold and silver medals in many categories. They won gold, silver and bronze medals in 65Kg and 80 Kg weight categories, gold and silver in 70 Kg and also silver and bronze in 55Kg category apart from the silver and bronze in 60 Kg and 75 Kg respectively.

In the under 21 junior category M Bashir Mohommad of Kandy Power Lifting Club emerged champion while M Mathis Mohaommad from the same club emerged runner up. Mohommad Risvi of Ultimate SC won the third place.

The event for veterans caught the eyes of all where R A Sudath emerged champion while Sunil Jayaratne secured the second place. B Ariyapala won the third place.

In the overall last round I G Wasantha Peris, V G Amila, M Fazil, P T M G Wijekoon, Subash Siriwardena, W D Udara Mendis, W A D Chanaka and V R P Basnayake selected from all age categories competed for the title. Amila , Wijekoon, Subash , Udara and Chanaka were taken step forward for a final pose where Subash performed well enough to win the 2012 title.

Results -

55 Kg

1. I G Wasantha Peris, 2. M B R B Tennakoon, 3. B A N Mendis

60 Kg

1. Y G Amila, 2. P M Suresh Karunathilaka, 3. W C D Dias

65 Kg

1. M Hazir, 2. W M Suneth, 3. K S Nandana

70 Kg

1. P G M G U Wijekoon, 2. M O R E Menikpura, 3. H K Sajith Madusanka

75 Kg

1. Subash Siriwardena, 2. P K Niranjan, 3. Chaminda Peris

80 Kg

1. W Udara Mendis, 2. S L Sisira Kumara, 3. Maduka Sameera

85 Kg

1. W A D Chanaka Peter, 2. M A Silva, 3. Asanka Nandana

Over 85 Kg

1. M R P N Basnayake, 2. P D Vipularatne, 3. Danushka Noyel


Destiny Mall & Residency
Casons Rent-A-Car
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2012 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor