Sunday Observer Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year cricketers noured

## **CHINTHANA WASALA**

Trinity College skipper and Sri Lanka under-19 player Niroshan Dickwella was crowned Sunday Observer Mobitel Schoolboy Cricket of the Year at the mega awards ceremony held for the 34th year at the Galadari Hotel Grand Ballroom on Tuesday evening. Tharindu Kaushal of Rathgama Devapathiraja MV was named Outstation Schoolboy Cricketer of the

Sajeewa Salgado of Thurstan College (All-Island) and Kavindu crowned Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketers of the Year.

The Runners up awards of the Most Popular Schoolboy Cricket-ers of the Year contest went to Ashan Wanigaratna of Thurstan College (All-Island) and Angelo Jayasinghe of Maris Stella College, Negombo (Outstation).

The colourful ceremony was attended by former Sri Lanka captain and current batting coach of the national team, Marvan Atapat-

Ashan Perera of Royal College, tu who was the chief guest. He was Panadura (Outstation) were the Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the year, in 1990.

Sports Minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Sri Lanka Cricket Secretary Nishantha Ranatunga, Chairman of Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited Bandula Padmakumara, Mobitel Chief Executive Officer Lalith de Silva, Sports Director General Ranjani Jayakody and Mass Media and Information Ministry Secretary Charitha Herath were also among the distinguished guests.



Best all-rounder (All-Island), Kavindu Ashan Perera of Panadura Royal College receiving the award from Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Chairman and Managing Director Bandula Padmakumara



Tharindu Kaushal of Rathgama Devapathiraja MV receiving the award for the Outstation Schoolboy Cricketer from Sports Minister Mahindanda Aluthgamage



All Island Most Popular Cricketer of the Year Sajeewa Salgado of Thurstan College receiving the award from Chief **Editor of Sunday Observer Dinesh Weerawansa** 



The Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year runner-up (All-Island) Ashan Wanigaratna of Thurstan College receiving the award from Chief Editor of Sunday Observer Dinesh Weerawansa. Sunday Observer Associate Editor Pramod de Silva and Deputy Editor Dudley Jansz also look on.



Mass Media and Information Ministry Secretary Charitha Herath handing over the award for the Best outstation team of the Year, S de S Jayasinghe Central College Dehiwala.



Sunday Observer Mobitel Schoolboy Cricket of the Year Trinity College skipper and Sri Lanka under-19 player Niroshan Dickwella





Pictures by Susantha Wijegunasekara, Samantha Weerasiri, Thilak Perera and Chinthaka kumarasinghe

Most popular outstation school-boy crickter of the year, Kavindu Ashan Perera of Panadura Royal College receiving the award from Sunday Observer Associate Editor Pramod de Silva