COMMUNITY



A function to felicitate journalist in the Beruwala area, organized by the Divisional Secretariats was held recently. Here Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development Minister Dr Rajitha Senaratne presents an award to senior journalist Al Haj B M Mukthar. Beruwala Divisional Secretary Dammika Rajapaksa is also in the picture.



Lakshmi Wijayatilake was recently awarded the French Foreign Affairs bronze medal by Ambassador of France Christine Robichon. Mrs Wijayatilake worked in the French embassy in Colombo for 31 years, from 1980 to her retirement in April 2011. Thanks to her commitment to work, charming personality and appreciated knowledge of Sri Lankan society's diversity, Mrs Wijayatilake, who was employed as receptionist became over the years an irreplaceable employee to whom France is pleased to demonstrate its gratitude.



Veteran singer Anjaline Goonathilaka who was the chief guest at the annual awards ceremony of Atamie International School, Wattala being welcomed by a student of the school. Atamie International Chairman Dr Azard Uduman, Finance Director Sundar Rajasekaran and Principal Yvonne Dias were also present.



All Ceylon Hindu Congress Vice President "Vidaikodi Chelvar", Sinnadurai Dhanabalaa presenting a set of Nanthi flags and a copy of the "Indu oli" magazine to President Mahinda Rajapaksa at Temple Trees recently.



Sri Lanka Red Cross Society president Jagath Abeysinghe, Parliamentary Affairs Secretary to President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Kumarasiri Hettige and Finance Commission Chairman Prasanna Dassanayake with the CEO of the Red Cross Society of China Shao Beg after a discussion on the current humanitarian situation in Sri Lanka.



Members of the Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia YMBA conducted a shramadana campaign to clean up Ward No. 19 of Maharagama Cancer Hospital recently. They also donated essential medicines to the hospital. Here Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia YMBA President Ranil Fernando handing over the medicines to chief pharmacist N Weeraisnghe. Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia YMBA Officials Director Ananda Paranamanna, Treasurer Priyanga De Silva and Secretary Bandula Nanayakkara were also present.