Daily News Online

Saturday, 17 September 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Peterite domination continues in schools tennis for the fifth consecutive year

St Peter's College, Colombo continued their unrivalled dominance in the Sri Lanka schools tennis arena when they won their fifth consecutive all island inter-school overall tennis championship in the very recently concluded tournament at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) courts. With a very short history in this game the Peterites have been the top tennis playing school by displaying the traditional powerhouses in this very competitive schools championship.

St Peterís College,
All Island Boys inter schools tennis championship 2011 overall champions
Seated from left to right: Kevin Markandarajah (Asst. Coach), Dinith Pathiraja (Coach), Hamdhan Othman (College Captain), Rev Fr Travis Gabriel (Rector), Rev Fr Lakmin Prasanga Silva (Sports Coordinator), Chinthika Shaveen (Vice Captain), Amantha Weerasinghe (Vice Captain), Bernard Jesuthasan (Master in charge), Subashan (Asst Coach)
Standing from left to right (1st row): Naweed Nazeel, Thariq Saboor, U Srinath, Mark Seneviratne, Adhel Reza, Demintha Fonseka, Kavinka Fernando, Brendan Schwallie, Nidish Gulawita, Meshan Nanayakkara, Rashaad Jamaldeen, Ramin Dharmaratne, Nabeel Sabri, R Krishanthan, Davishka Ranasinghe, U Dilshanth.
Standing from left to right (2nd row): Shashanka Gomez, Aaron Assauw, Kalana Wijerathne, Senel Rohana, Ashfaaq Ahamed, Nafees Sabri, N Nishangan, R Rajeevan, Sanjeev Mohankumar, Aritha Weerasinghe, S Venujan, Abhishek Muttiah, Chehan Fernando, Shanitha Perera, Radley Perumal.
Absent: Ravindhu Athukorala, Harsha Peiris, Haneef Zarook, Nisheth Mendis, S Inthujan, Isuru Wijerathne.

The tournament started with the under 17 age group where the boys of blue, white and gold were unconquerable. The Peterites led by their Sri Lanka junior players Aritha Weerasinghe, Aaron Assauw and Nishangan Nadaraja who have represented Sri Lanka in various tournaments including the Junior Davis Cup and the World Juniors tennis tournament beat St Thomas' Prep School 35-0, St. Thomas' College, Matale 35-0 Royal College 35-0, St. Benedict's College 35-0, S Thomas College, Mt Lavinia 35-0 and Trinity College, Kandy 30-5 in their group stage matches. In the semi-final, they faced St Joseph's College, Maradana, which they won 3-0. They went on to win the championship by beating Royal College 3-0 in the final. The team also comprised Sanjeev Mohankumar, Harsha Peiris, Radley Perumal, Shashanka Gomez, Kalana Wijeratne, Senel Rohana and Haneef Zarook.

Buoyed by this success the Peterites then entered the under 19 age group. In the under 19 age group, the Peterites led by Chinthika Shaveen, who has represented Sri Lanka in the Junior Davis Cup last year beat British School 35-0, Lyceum International School, Nugegoda 35-0 and St Sebastian's College 35-0. The lost 26-9 to a strong Ananda College team in their final group encounter in a hard fought battle. They lost the semi-final to Royal College 3-1 who went on to win the championship. In a gruelling encounter for the 3rd place, the Peterites beat the very strong S Thomas College Mt Lavinia team, who were the favourites to win this match, 3-1. The team was captained by Hamdhan Othman. The team also included Amantha Weerasinghe, Nafees Sabri, Sivenesaraja Venujan, Rajeevan Rajendhrasingham, Ravindhu Athukorale, Abhishek Muttiah, Ashfaaq Ahamed and Rashaad Jamaldeen.

St Peterís College, All Island Under 17 Tennis Champions
Seated from left to Right: Kevin Markandarajah (Asst Coach) Dinith Pathiraja (Coach), Aritha Weerasinghe (Captain), Rev Fr Travis Gabriel (Rector), Rev Fr Lakmin Prasanga Silva (Sportís Coordinator), Aaron Assauw (Vice Captain), Bernard Jesuthasan (Master in Charge), Subashan (Asst Coach)
Standing from Left to Right: Shashanka Gomez, N Nishangan, Kalana Wijerathne, Sanjeev Mohankumar, Senel Rohana, Radley Perumal. Absent: Harsha Peiris, Haneef Zarook
St Peterís College, All Island Under 15 Tennis Champions 2011
Seated from left to right: Kevin Markandarajah (Asst Coach), Dinith Pathiraja (Coach), Davishka Ranasinghe (Captain), Rev Fr Travis Gabriel (Rector), Rev Fr Lakmin Prasanga Silva (Sports Coordinator), Shanitha Perera (Vice Captain), Bernard Jesuthasan (Master in charge), Subashan (Asst Coach)
Standing from Left to Right: Naweed Nazeel, Nabeel Sabri, Demintha Fonseka, Chehan Fernando, Ramin Dharmarathne, R Krishanthan, U Dilshanth. Absent: Nisheth Mendis.

Then it was turn of the future of Peterite tennis to show what they could do in the under 13 age group. It was accepted that this year, 2011, this was the age group which would go a long way towards deciding the honours of this year's tournament. The Peterite juniors displayed a solid performance in the under 13 age group. They beat D S Senanayake College 35-0 and a strong Royal College team 35-0. They beat Ananda College 3-1 to enter the finals where they lost 3-2 to S Thomas' College, Mt Lavinia to finish runners-up in this age group after an exciting and an extremely closely contested final. This was an extremely creditable performance as the Peterites were not considered favourites in this age group. It speaks volumes for the discipline, commitment and the determination of the Peterite tennis players that they almost won this age group. The team comprised Kavinka Fernando (capt), Meshan Nanayakkara, Udayachandran Srinath, S Inthujan, Isuru Wijerathne, Brendan Schwallie, Mark Seneviratne, Adhel Riza, Thariq Saboor and Nidish Gulawita.

Finally it was the under 15 age group which had to bear the responsibility of keeping the trophy home for the 5th consecutive year. They knew that their performance would decide the all island overall inter-schools trophy for 2011. The Peterites entered into this age group led by their two Sri Lanka under 14 players namely, Chehan Deepal Fernando and Davishka Ranasinghe. They also had their top juniors on show in this age group with Nabeel Sabri, R Krishanthan and U Dilshanth playing for them along with Shanitha Perera, Demintha Fonseka, Nisheth Mendis, Ramin Dharmaratne and Naweed Nazeel. But they also knew that they were playing this age group with the points for the overall trophy tied with Royal College, Colombo 7 who had been their closest rivals for the last 4 years as well.

In the group stages the Peterites comfortably beat Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala 35-0, St Benedict's College, Kotahena 35-0, St Sebastian's College, Moratuwa 35-0, Trinity College, Kandy 35-0, St. Thomas' Prep School, Kollupitiya 35-0 and the very strong Ananda College, Colombo 35-0. After winning through the group stages comfortably with this all conquering team the Peterites faced the S Thomas' College, Mt Lavinia in the semi-finals and beat them by 3 matches to nil to reach the final.

In the other semi-final Ananda College had beaten Royal College in a very close match and thus St Peter's had to play Ananda College in the final. In the final St Peter's College beat Ananda College by 3 matches to nil to win the championships and thereby winning coveted all island inter school tennis championship for the 5th consecutive year and for the 6th time in the Peterite history.


ANCL Tender - Saddle Stitcher
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor