Daily News Online

Wednesday, 27 July 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Premier at awards ceremony:

Media play significant developmental role

The Mass Lanka Prime Minister Awards 2011 organized by the United Mass Communication Association to promote journalistic excellence and felicitate outstanding personalities who contributed to the country's development in keeping with traditional values and high ethical standards was held at Galle Face Hotel with the participation of Prime Minister D.M.Jayaratna yesterday.

The Sri Lanka Mass Media awards ceremony is an annual event which showcases and recognizes the achievements of journalists and outstanding personalities who have contributed significantly to the country's economic, cultural, educational and social development.

In appreciation of the services rendered for religious and spiritual development, four religious leaders were given special awards at the ceremony. Ven. Boralle Athula Thera, Chief Priest of Sri Maha Badrakali Amman kovil Swami Kali Kanakarathnam, Rev. Sarath Hettiarchchi and Devatagaha Mosque custodian Moulavi Riyaz M Saleem were felicitated.

Veteran journalist and Chairman of Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd Bandula Padmakumara and three other Lake House journalists received awards at the ceremony.Dinamina Features Editor Ayanthi Withana, veteran journalists Premakumara Rajapaksa and Wehelle Piyathilaka received awards for their outstanding contribution to the media in Sri Lanka.

Addressing the ceremony, Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratna pointed out the significance of the media in making a country ethically rich together with material development.

'The media is responsible in forming the mentality of the people,' he said.

'Awards ceremonies of this nature will help the people engage in their respective fields with more enthusiasm and vigour. Everybody likes to be appreciated for their work', the Prime Minister said.

He noted that the media with the support of religious dignitaries should make an effort to establish morally oriented society in the country.

Cultural Affaires Minister T.B. Ekanayake, Chief patrons Edwin Ariyadasa and Saman Weeraman, Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd Editorial Director Seelarathna Senarath and Mass Lanka Awards President Dilip Mendis were also present.



Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor