Daily News Online

Saturday, 4 June 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Stafford - Raigam meet in 'C' Division final

Raigam Marketing will be looking for sweet revenge when they take on the confident Safford Motor team in the final of the MCA 'Centenary Year' 2011 'C' division 50 overs League Tournament, today at the Colts ground commencing 10.00 am.

Stafford Motors got into top gear with a morale boosting 99 run win over Suntel in the semifinals at Braybrook place last Tuesday. Now Stafford Motors will be looking forward to unleash their two key players, top order batsman, Sanjaya Gangodawila (105) and wicket taking bowler Amila Mendis (3 for 55) who came up with a match winning performances against Suntel.

Raigam Marketing will face the final with bitter memories of having lost to Stafford Motors by a huge margin of 82 runs at Colts ground when they met each other in the league stage. In that game Amila Mendis came up brilliant performance for Stafford Motors with a remarkable double of 55 runs and 5 wickets for 8 runs.

Both finalists are playing in this division for the first time, Stafford Motors coming down from 'B' Division and Raigam Marketing going up from 'D' division. Stafford Motors led by dashing middle order batsman Rakitha Rajkumara will go out as favorites but his vis-a-vis Mahesh Kuruppu who led Raigam Marketing to win the MCA 'E' Division title two years ago, is all geared up to surprise his opponents.

The match Referee Cum adjudicator is Upali Warnapura.

The Teams

Stafford Motor Co Limited (from) : Rakitha Rajkumara (Captain), Duminda Somaweera , Amila Mendis, S. Lsantha Kumara , Sunjaya Gangodawila , Sukitha Peiris (WK), Chamika Peiris , Tharinda Kaluperuma , Geeth Karunaratne , Buddhika Ranaweera, Gerald Praveen, Sajeewa Vishan, Anura Ranasinghe, Ramesh Jayathunga and Manjula Perera.

Raigam Sports Club (from) : Mahesh C. Kuruppu (Captain), Lahiru Chaturanga , Thilina Suresh, Krishantha Aruna, Dinesh Nilanga, Ishanka Gimhana (WK), S.I. Vithana, Lasantha Kumara, Pasindu Didulaka, Buddhika Sanjeewa, Wenura Kaldera, Rangana de Silva, Harsh Kumara and Heshan Madushanka


LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor