Daily News Online

Tuesday, 1 February 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Pushpadana and Vijaya clinch cup championship

Pushpadana Girls College (Girls Schools) and Vijaya College, Matale (Boys Schools) emerged cup champions at the 18th People's Bank super sevens all island inter-club and inter-school seven-a-side hockey tournament organized by Seetha Devi Balika Vidyalaya and concluded at the Asgiriya Stadium on Sunday.

This hockey championship was conducted on a highly successful note with over 600 stickers playing for 60 teams and around 100 Matches were worked off on the two days.

The Assistant General Manager (Western Region) People's Bank Boniface Silva was the Chief Guest and he distributed the main awards.

Schools Championship (Girls)

Pushpadana Girls College, Kandy continued their success with the stick when they won the Cup Championship for girls by defeating Seetha Devi Balika Vidyalaya 2-0 in the finals. At lemons Pushpadana Girls College led 1-0.

Pushpadana Skipper Lakmini Wijesundera opened scoring with a mid field dribble to second the boards.

Centre forward Jeewanthi Jayaratne put the issue beyond doubt by scoring the second goal following a penalty corner in the final minute of play.

M Naushad and G H Ekanayake umpired

Pushpadana's skipper Lakmini Wijesundera was adjudged the most outstanding player of the tournament while Nirmani de Silva of Seetha Devi BV was picked as the Best Goal Keeper for her fine performance.

Plate Championship

Seetha Devi BV Whites was the Plate Championship by defeating Sangamitha BV Matale 1-0 in the finals.

The Bowl Championship went to St Anthony's Girls College, Kandy who beat Girls High School 1-0.

The Shield Championship went to Yasodara Vidyalaya, Colombo who beat Yasodara Balika Vidyalaya, Gampaha 1-0.

Pushpadana Girls College coached by A B Godigamuwa won their fourth championship title having earlier won the Kandy District Schools title, the National Schools Championship, Central Province Hockey Academy Hockey Championship and now this championship.

Boys Schools Championship

Vijaya College, Matale won the Cup Championship for boys schools by defeating Nalanda College, Colombo 3-0 in the Cup finals. At half time Vijaya led 1-0.

Seconding the boards for Vijaya College were skipper Amila Ratnasiri (1), Buddhika Naveen (1) and Sithum Sithara (1).

S Jayasinghe and M Naushad umpired

Amila Ratnasiri of Vijaya College, Matale was selected the Most Outstanding player of the tournament while the Best Goal Keeper award went to Daratha Teana also from Vijaya College.

St Benedicts College Kotahena won the Plate Championship by defeating the defending champions Christ Church College, Matale 3-2 on penalty strokes after the scores stood level one all at end of full time.

St Thomas' College, Matale won the Bowl Championship defeating Dharmaraja by 3-0.


LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor