Daily News Online

Tuesday, 1 February 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Air Force and Navy take hockey titles

Sri Lanka Air Force A (Mens Championship) and Sri Lanka Navy A (Womens Championship) became inter-club champions at the 18th Peoples Bank Super Hockey Sevens organised by Seetha Devi Balika Vidyalaya and worked off at the Asgiriya Stadium in Kandy on Sunday.

The star studded Sri Lanka Air Force A won the Mens Championship for the second year in running by defeating Sri Lanka Air Force B by 3 goals to 1. It was the loser Air Force B who lead 1-0 at lemon. In the early stages of the match Air Force B surprised the defending champions by taking a 1-0 lead through a goal fired by centre forward C Kumara.

But after the turn around Air Force A took control of the game by scoring thrice through Dhammika Abeyratne (1), K S S Perera (1) and D Dissanayake (1).

Most outstanding player: Dhammika Abeyratne (SLAF A).

Best Goal Keeper: Thusitha Ratnasiri (SLAF A).

Plate title went to Sri Lanka Navy A who beat Sri Lanka army A 1-0 in the finals.

Army B won the Bowl by defeating Wennappuwa Hockey Club 1-0.

The Shield was won by Christ Church Hockey Club, Matale by scoring a 1-0 win over Navy B.

Womens Club Championship

Sri Lanka Navys Womens A team successfully defended the Cup Title which they won last year by defeating Seetha Devi Sports Club 2-1 on penalty strokes. The scores at the end of full time stood at one all with the Navy leading 1-0 at lemons.

Buddhika Nelum Kumari scored for Navy while Chathurangani Inosha did the scoring for Seetha Devi SC.

Most Outstanding Player: Chathurika Wijesuriya (Navy A).

Best Goal Keeper: Jeewanthi Keerthiratne (Navy A).

The Plate Championship was won by Navy B who edged out Peradeniya University 1-0. H Kumari scored for Navy B.

Colombo Colts Cricket Club Ladies who stunned the Cup Champions Navy A by holding them to a draw won the Bowl Title after defeating Colombo Combined Ladies 2-0. Jayalakshmi Kaluarachchi scored both goals for the winners.

Old Devians SC won the Shield by defeating St Anthonys Hockey Club 3-0 in the finals.


Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor