Daily News Online

Wednesday, 19 January 2011






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Kandurata rout Uva Province

Kandurata Province kept their hopes alive of qualifying for the semifinals by recording a convincing 109 run victory over Uva Province in their Inter Provincial limited overs cricket tournament last preliminary round match worked off at the SSC ground in Maitland Place yesterday.

Kandurata electing to bat first hit up a formidable 274 runs thanks to two splendid half centuries from opener Yohan de Silva and all rounder Sachith Pathirana. In reply Uva were bundled out for 165 runs in 39 overs with Sohan Boralessa claiming three wickets.

But the real match winners for Kandurata were Yohan de Silva and Sachith Pathirana who were associated in a crucial second wicket partnership of 124 runs in 20 overs. Stylish opener Yohan de Silva played the sheet anchor role with a solid 64 from 67 deliveries inclusive of three sixes and six boundaries. Sachith Pathirana fresh after his success for CCC in the Premier limited overs tournament was also among the runs with a sparkling 68 from 70 balls studded with two sixes and eight boundaries.

This time however it was a completely new experience as he was promoted in the batting order following the early dismissal of opener Saman Jayantha. Hard hitting batsman Pathirana then grabbed the opportunity to score a match winning half century while making use of the power play overs to the maximum.

After their departure Chamara Kapugedera and Jehan Mubarak kept the score moving at a steady pace while collecting runs in almost every delivery. In fact Mubarak hoisted two sixes and struck one boundary during his run a ball knock of 26 while Angelo Perera added the finishing touches by smashing two boundaries during his 22.

Uva Province were put on the defensive almost immediately in their run chase following a double strike from Jehan Mubarak who shared the new ball along with Nuwan Kulasekera.

Opener Tharanga Paranavithana kept their hopes alive to a certain extent with a good half century inclusive of four boundaries. But there was no big partnerships in the Uva Innings as they lost wickets at regular intervals against some accurate bowling.

After Mubarak struck early Muttiah Muralitharan, Sohan Boralessa and Saman Jayantha all maintained the same momentum to give their side a morale boosting victory at the end.

Meanwhile Ruhuna Province will meet the defending champions Wayamba Province in their last preliminary round match of the tournament at the SSC ground in Maitland Place today.

Kandurata: 274 in 49.5 overs (Y de Silva 64, S Pathirana 68, J Mubarak 26, C Kapugedera 37, A Perera 22, N Kulasekera 19, J Gunaratne 3 for 45, I de Saram 2 for 34, M Siriwardena 2 for 50).

Uva: 165 in 39 overs (T Paranavithana 50, T Kandamby 44, J Mubarak 2 for 26, M Muralitharan 2 for 32, S Boralessa 3 for 33, S Jayantha 2 for 7).



Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor