Daily News Online

Tuesday, 7 December 2010






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Laxman and Lasanthi cycling champions

An open cycle race was held at Ratnapura organised by the National Cycling Association in collaboration with the Ratnapura Cyclists Association with participants from several districts.

The three Junior winners of the cycle race. Pictures by N P Rajadurai - Ratnapura Special Correspondent

The distance to cover was 98 km starting from Ratnapura Municipal Council to Balangoda and back.

In the Men's race Laxman Wijeratne from Gampaha emerged champion completing the race in two hrs. 31 mins. 19 seconds. Jeevan Jayasinghe from Gampaha finished in second place in two hrs. 36 mins. three seconds.

Lasanthi Gunathilaka from Gampaha who won the women’s cycle race is seen with her trophy

Hemantha Kumara also from Gampaha finished third taking two hrs. 36 minutes and three seconds.

In the women's race, which started in front of Ratnapura MC upto Pelmadulla and back Lasanthi Gunathilake from Gampaha won first place completing the race in one hour, 26 minutes.

Niluka Sishyamali from Colombo District took the second place and Manori Kumari from Ampara finished third.

In the Junior Cycle Race 49 kilometres from Ratnapura to Pelmadulla, Dileep Prabath from Gampaha became first completing the distance in two hrs. 36 mins. 57 seconds. Denitha Rajapakse from Colombo finished second in two hrs. 36 mins. 57 secs and Nadeesa Rudira from Gampaha finished third in two hrs. 36 mins. 57 secs.

In the Junior Men's Race with a distance of 49 kms Shiran Fernando from Kurunegala became first in 1 hr. 12 mins. k 49. Nirantha Fernando from Colombo finished in second place in one hr. 12 mins. k 49, D P C Ranjith from Colombo finished third in 1 hr. 12 mins. k 49.

Junior Women's Race from Ratnapura to Balangoda Dineesha Dilrukshi from Kurunegala became first finishing in 33 mins. k 48, Aseka Rudrangani from Anuradhapura finished second in 33 mins. k 48 and Sudharshani Disheni from Kurunegala finished third in 33 mins, k 48. Ratnapura Mayor J M Chandradasa Jayasinghe functioned as the starter. He along with the President of Sri Lanka Cycling Federation distributed prices and certificates.

The President of Ratnapura Cyclists Association Thusitha made all arrangements to conduct races successfully.


Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor