Daily News Online

Wednesday, 1 December 2010



SIGNIS salutes thespians

Somaweera Senanayake, Somaratne Dissanayake and Prasanna Vithanage

Malini Fonseka, Veena Jayakodi and Ranjan Ramanayake

Chandani Senevirathne and Rosmund Senaratne

Sangeetha Weeraratne, Sumana Gomes and Jayalath Manoratne

The 34th SIGNIS Salutation ceremony took over the BMICH on November 26 at 6 pm. The event which felicitates artistes connected with the tele and cinema industry is presented by the World Catholic Organization.

This year's event opened doors to much talent, creativity and glamour. Many cinema and teledrama artistes walked up to the stage to bag the award presented in appreciation of their talent. Interestingly Chandani Seneviratne walked away with the best actress award in teledramas for both years.

She was felicitated for portraying two charatcers which are poles apart: a rural village woman in Karuwala Gedara and a warm hearted lady form the town setup in Arungal. The jury comprised Signis Communication Director Rev Benedict Joseph, journalist Thanuja Dharmapala, H M Karunaratne, Rasanduna Editor Sunil Mihidukula and lecturer Aruna Lokuliyana.


Main SIGNIS holders 2008 - Films
Best film : Machan
Best director : Uberto Pasolini
Best actor : Dharmapriya Dias for Machan
Best actress : Dulani bAnuradha for Aba 9silver)

- Teledramas
Best teledrama : Karuwala Gedara
Best director : Sudath Rohana for Karuwala Gedara
Best actor : Janak Premalal for Karuwala Gedara
Best actress : Chandani Seneviratne for Karuwala Gedara
Best script : Dr Tissa Abeysekara for Karuwala Gedara
Best cameraman : K A Dharmasena for Karwala Gedara


Main SIGNIS holders 2009 - Films

Best film : Akasa Kusum
Best director : Prasanna Vithabage for Akasa Kusum
Best actor : Ranjan Ramanayake for Paya Enna Hiru Se
Best actress : Malani Fonseka for Akasa Kusum (Gold) and Suranga Ranawaka for Alimankada (Silver)

- Teledramas
Best teledrama : Sinidu Piyapath
Best director : Geethika Palipana for Sinidu Piyapath
Best actor : Jayalath Manoratne for Arungal (GOLD) and Lucien Bulathsinhala for Sihina Sappuwa
Best actress : Chandani Seneviratne for Arungal
Best script : Geetha Palipana for Sinidu Piyapath
Best cameraman : Chandana Jayasinghe for Poojasanaya


<< Artscope Main Page


LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor