Daily News Online

Saturday, 2 October 2010






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Ruwantilleke leads team to Korea

The newly selected National Football team will leave the island for Korea today on a training program arranged by the South Korean Football Association.

The Lankan team led by Rohan Ruwantilleke is due to play seen matches during their three week stay in Korea before returning on October 23.

The national soccer team before their departure for Korea

Korean national Jang Jung who guided the Lankan soccerites to reach the final of the SAG Football tournament in 2006 is the head coach on the tour.

Former national player and assistant coach for the national team for many years D. Chandrasiri will be the assistant coach for Jang Jung while Thushara Sampath also accompany the team as the second Asst. coach for the team. Chandrasiri also was in charge of the under 17 and 19 national teams for a long period. The tour was arranged to gain experience prior to the pre-Olympic qualifying round and the AFC Challenge Cup qualifying round and the South Asian Football Championship scheduled for February, March and December 2011 respectively.

Former National Captain and the Deputy CEO of Football Federation of Sri Lanka Anura de Silva join the tour party as the manager.

The national soccer team before their departure for Korea

Skipper of Saunders SC Rohana Ruwantilleke the skippers the national team for the first time will be handling a team packed with youth and experience. The team’s average age is 23 and are expected to gather a lot from this tour which will be of vital importance for them in the future.

Sri Lanka Air Force has six players in the squad which is the highest number from single champions League team while the next is Don Bosco and Civil Security Force which has four players respectively. One time glamor boys of soccer in Sri Lanka Saunders SC has only a single member in the squad.

The team:

Defenders - W.R.D. Ruwantilleke (Captain) Saunders SC, R.N.M.A. Bandara Warakagoda K.C.K. Lankeswara (Air Force), L.A.T. Suranga Bandara, Dilki Kumara (Don Bosco),

Mid Fielders – A.M. Chathura Ekanayake, W. M. Chamira Krishantha, M.S. Chathuranga, Sumana Don Hattiarachchi (Civil Security), C.P.P.R. Dilip Dalpadathu (Don Bosco), A.A. Nalaka Roshan P.A.D. Subash Madhushan ( Sri Lanka Navy), P.J. Chaminda, K.M.T.N. Kumara (Air Force),

Forwards - Tuwan Rizvi Tuwan Rizni, M.I. Mohamed Zain, Kaiz Mohamed Shafras (Renown SC), S. Sanjeeva (Air Force),K.W.S. Danushka Wijesiri (Sri Lanka Army), P.D. Malik Migara (Sri Lanka Navy), P.H. Nadeeka Pushpakumara (Sri Lanka Police) L.H. Kavindu Ishan (Don Bosco), Goal Keepers – M.M.S.K. Fernando (Blue Star SC), A.S. Buddhika Bandara (New Youngs SC) Don Dasun Paranavithana (Air Force).



Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor