Daily News Online

Monday, 24 May 2010






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Over 40 Twenty20 tourney on June 5-6

Lanka Cavaliers organized first ever over 40 Twenty20 Cricket Tournament will take place on June 5 and 6 at the Colts and BRC grounds at Havelock Park.

Eight teams are lined up to take part in their inaugural tournament which will give an opportunity for the players of yesteryear to have a go in this latest format of cricket which is becoming increasingly popular.

The opening ceremony will be held on June 5 at the Colts grounds at 8.45 am. Former Sri Lanka cricket captain Michael Tissera will be the chief guest and give away the awards.

Colts, Olcott XI, Quadrangular XI, MCA Veterans, Moratuwa, Kandy, Kurunegala and an Umpires XI will make the 8 teams which will be played on a knock out basis.

The Olcott XI will comprise of players from leading schools Ananda, Nalanda, Mahinda, Dharmapala, Dharmaraja etc. founded by Henry Steel Olcott while the Quadrangular XI will form the side with players from St. Benedict’s, St. Joseph’s, St. Peter’s and St. Anthony’s Katugasthota.

The winners will receive a sum of Rs. 50,000.00 and the Lanka Cavaliers Trophy and the runner up will be presented with a cash award of Rs. 25,000.00 and the Lanka Cavalier Trophy. Cash prizes and trophies will be also awarded to the Best Batsmen, Best Bowler and the Man of the Final.

The organisers have made it compulsory that the eight teams should field two players of the age of over 50 years.

The Lanka Cavaliers founded in 1997 with just six members by former Benedictine cricketer Basil Perera who later invited Sri Lanka’s first Test captain Bandula Warnapura, Jayantha Seneviratne, Mervyn Fernando, Damien Fernando and Gerry Woutersz. Lanka Cavaliers also conducts coaching programmes in rural areas for the betterment of the outstation cricketers with the concept of ‘giving something back in return to the game’ of their knowledge and experience gained.

There are many sponsors who have assisted Lanka Cavaliers, while former Hartley College cricketer and the Managing Director of East West Marketing K. Mathivanan has been the driving force of the Club.

Daya Sirisena (Treasurer), K. Mathivanan (Co-sponsor), Jayantha Seneviratne (President), Basil Perera (Chairman Tournament Committee), Upali Warnapura (General Secretary) and Roshan Iddamalgoda (Tournament Secretary) were present at media briefing with regard to the tournament at the Colombo Colts Cricket Club pavilion.


LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor