Daily News Online

Friday, 12 February 2010

News Bar Ľ

News: IMF predicts 5.5 percent economic growth ...        Political: President at Tangalle: Donít use politics of violence ...       Business: To set up specialized unit: BoC enters investment banking ...        Sports: India get Laxman boost ahead of decisive Test ...






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Kalutara and Gampola clash in final

Junior Inter League soccer c'ship:

The Junior Inter League championship final between Kalutara Football League and Gampola Football League will kick off at 3.30 p.m. at the Vernon Fernando Stadium on Sunday. The championship is organized and conducted by Football Federation of Sri Lanka attracted thirty four teams from affiliated leagues.

Kalutara Football League team to reach the final of this championship overcame Matara FL 1-0, Wattala FL 3-0 and Negombo FL 3-2. Meanwhile the Gampola League team had to face four opposing teams on the way to the final. They beat Matale FL 1-0, Mawanella FL 3-0, Nuwara Eliya FL 4-0, Mannar FL 3-1.

Going on the record Gampola lads have the advantage with their strikers in form scoring as many as eleven goals while their opponents have an aggregate of seven from three games. This proves that strikers of both teams have fared well. Kalutara FL Juniors will have the advantage as they are playing this game on their home ground. With ground support in their favour the Kalutara lads could pose a big threat to the Gampola lads.

The outcome of this game cannot be predicted right now but the team that class soccer on this day can go away with the trophy and the cash award of Rs. 50,000 and Rs. 25,000 will be awarded to the runner up team.

Nation Building and State Infrastructure Development Minister Rohitha Abeygoonewardene will be the chief guest and will give away the awards. Senior Vice President AFC Manilal Fernando and senior officials of FFSL are expected to attend the final.

Gampola Football League Team First Row - Seated Left to Right - M. Azmi Ahamed - Mohamed Waseem - Zakir Ahamed - Lakmal Weerakkody - G. L. Ariyaratna - Mohamed Shifan
Second Row - Standing Left to Right Sunil Senaweera (Coach/Secretary) - Chathura Gavith - Mohamed Sabri - Mohamed Rizan - Prageeth Senarath - Mohamed Azam
Kalutara Football League Team: First Row - Seated Left to Right J. Suraj Bernard - Kalpa Dananjaya - A. M. M. Aslam - Charindu Sampath - Subash Chathuranga - Deasan Arunasiri - M. Farhan.
2nd Row - Standing Left to Right Sujan Perera - Mayura Madusanka - Sathis Kumara - Tharindu Madusanka


Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor