

ustralia waited eight avant de Champions Troph in 2006 and and their grip easily when the 2009 tournament begins in South Africa. Smills were back on the faces of their opponents after their propents after the propents after their propents



Squads

Squads for the ICC Champions Trophy for the September 22-October 5 tournament taking place in South Africa:

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke, Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfen-haus, James Hopes, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Tim Paine, Peter Siddle, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Cameron White.

England: Andrew Strauss (capt), James
Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Joe Denly,
Eoin Morgan, Grahan Onions, Matt Prior,
Adil Rashid, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Rudra Pratap Singh, Amit Mishra, Dinesh Karthik, Abhishek Nayar.

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (capt). Neil Broom, Brendon Diamanti, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Ross Tay-lor, Daryl Tuffey, Shane Bond, Ian Butler.

lor, Daryl Tuttey, Shane Bond, Ian Butter.

Pakistan: Younus Khan (capt), Imran
Nazir, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umer Akmal,
Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Rana Navedul Hasan, Fawad Alam, Mohammad
Yousuf, Kamran Akmal, Umar Gul,
Mohammad Aamir, Mohammad Asif, Rao
Iftikhar, Saeed Ajmal.

Iftikhar, Saeed Ajmal.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt),
Johan Botha, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle
Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel,
Makhaya Ntini, Wayne Parnell, Robin
Peterson, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe,
Roelof van der Merwe.

Roelol van der Merwe.

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (capt),
Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan,
Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayasurdene, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedara,
Angelo Mathews, Muttiah Muralitharan,
Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan
Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad, Lasith
Malinga, Thilina Kandamby.

waningi, inima kainaminy.

West Indies: Floyd Reifer (capt), Dar
ren Sammy, David Bernard, Tino Best,
Royston Crandon, Travis Dowlin,
Andre Fletcher, Nikita Miller,
Kevin McLean, Kieran Powell,
Dale Richards, Kemar Roach,
Devon Smith, Gavin Tonge,
Chadwick Walton.





SOUTH AFRICA 2009

Trophy Factfile

Factfile on the ICC Champions Trophy which takes place from September 22-October 5 in South Africa

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL), Aleem Dar (PAK), Steve Davis (ENC), Ian Gould (ENG), Darp Halper (AUS), Tony Hill (NZL), Asad Rauf (PAK), Simon Taufel (AUS).

Referees: Jeff Crowe (NZL), Roshan Mahanama (SRJ), Javagal Srinath (IND).

Format: One-day international - 50 overs a side.

a side.

Prize money: Winners - 2 million dol-lars. Runners-up - 1 million. Losing semi-finalists - 400,000 each. Third in groups -100,000 each.

Note: Teams finishing last in groups receive no money.

Previous tournaments:

Most runs: Chris Gayle (WIS) 695

Group A
Sept 23: At Wanderers, Johannesburg - Pakistan v West
Indies 1230.
Sept 26: At Johannesburg - Australia (holders) v West Indies 0730. At
Supt 26: At Johannesburg - Australia v Pakistan 1230.
Sept 28: At Centurion - Australia v Pakistan 1230.
Sept 30: At Centurion - Australia v Pakistan 0730. At Johannesburg - India
v West Indies 1230.

v West munes 1.230.

Group B

Sept 22: At Centurion - South Africa v Sri Lanka 1230.

Sept 24: At Centurion - South Africa v New Zealand 0730.

Sept 25: At Johannesburg: Angland v Sri Lanka 1230.

Sept 27: At Johannesburg: New Zealand v Sri Lanka 0730. At Centurion: South Africa v England 1230.

Sept 29: At Johannesburg - England v New Zealand 1230.

Semi-finals

Oct 2: At Centurion - Group A winners v Group B runners-up 1230.

Oct 3: At Johannesburg - Group B winners v Group A runners-up 1230.

At Centurion - Winning semi-finalists 1230

ICC ODI championship rankings ahead of eight-nation 2009 Champions Trophy between September 22 and October 5 in South Africa:

1. South Africa: A India, Australia, 4 Pakistan, 5, Sri Lanka, 6, New Zealan, 7, England, 8, West Indies, 9, Bangladesh, 10, Zimbabwe, 11, Ireland, 12, Keny

England, Pakistan are Champions Trophy odd couple

South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Australia won the mini-Cricket World Cup outright and Sri Lanka and India shared the honour after rain ruined two attempts to complete the 2002 Colombo

Ithough the ICC Champions Trophy is just five fournaments old, it has delivered six different winners with England and Pakistan the only unsuccessful top-dia and Marcus Trescothick of England, finished a

Launched to raise funds for non-Test-playing nations, the tournament has had an identity crisis with as many formats as editions and a name change from ICC Knockout Trophy after the second version.

1998
The late Hansie Cronje and The late Hansie Cronje and The late Hansie Longues Kallar State Hansie Longues Longues

plete the final only for rain to play spoilsport with India managing

Constitution of the control of the c

London from television pictures of hurricanes lashing the

West Indies became the first country to reach three Champi-ons Trophy finals, but there was no London-like salvage operation as Australia cruised to an eight-wicket Mumbai suc-

an eight-wicket Mumbai suc-cess.

Nathan Bracken (3-22) inflict-ed most damage as the defending champions managed only 138 and an undefeated 57 from Shane Watson lifted Australia to 116-2 when rain intervened and the Duckworth-Lewis method came