COMMUNITY

Office-bearers Trinity College OBA Colombo Branch

Patron - Principal Vice Patrons - Gilbert Paranagama, James Mather, Sryantha Senaratne, Y.C.Chang, L.U.B.Dissanayake, Jim Bandaranayake, Andruika de Silva, J. Kehejpannala, Gotabaya Dasanyake, Andrew Thevathson, Upail Rat-nayake, Himendra Ranaweera, Dr Neville Karunatilekke

nayane, Humenia Kanaween, D. Feerne Kanamatekke President - Sin Geonetillake Vice President - Nath Wijesundera, Horace Jacob, Prabath Harshakumar, Ajith de Siha, Romesh Jayawandena, Dan Seevaratnam, Sidath Pananwela, Amitha Nugawela, Mutti-al Chandrasekeran, Suchitra Aluvuhare Secretary: Ranil Prematilake Treasurer - Vijiria Abeysundera Assistant Secretary/Assistant Treasurer - Keshan Talgahagoda Trustees - Y.C.Chang, J.Kehalpannala, Dr Douglas Neths-inghe

Trustees - Y.C.Chang, J.Kehalpannala, Dr Douglas Neths-inghe Committee - 20 30 years - Shamal Gunawardena, Ronald Gunasinghe, Kapila Pilimathalawa 30 - 40 years - Nalaka Madugalle, Chandana Abeywarde-na, Chamila Wickramanayake 40 - 50 years - Clifford Shadrach, Manik Swaminathan, Manzil Marija

Sri Lanka Institute of Training and Development

President - Fastman Narangoda Vice President 1 - Nalin Jayasuriya Vice President 2 - Dr. Travis Prerera Secretary - S.B.W. De Silva Treasurer - Ajihi Bopitiya Assistant Tescaurer - Kithsiri Athukorala Assistant Tescaurer - Kithsiri Athukorala Members - P. Ranawakarachchi, Anomaa Iddamalgoda, Brig, H.L. David, Ajith Senewiratne, Primal De Silva, Ajith R. Colonne, Sarath Dias Bandaranayake, Lionel Ama-rakoon.

rakoon. Immediate Past President - Chandra Fernando.



Prime Minister Rathnasiri Wickramanayaka who was the Chief Guest at the 10th award cer-emony of International, Primary, Junior and Secondary Examinations conducted by the Association of International Schools in Sri Lanka (AISSL) hands over a prize to a winner. AISSL President M.M. Hannifa and Secretary General Dr. Newton Peiris are also in the pic-



Members of the Old Boys Association of De Mazenod College, Kandana and staff paid trib-ute to fallen herces of the three Forces and police at a ceremony at the college. Here De Mazenodians, members of the three Forces and police before laying bouquest at the memo-rial pillar. From Leff: SSP Priyantha Jayakody, Ranil Gurussinghe of the Air Force, Director Administrator. De Mazenod College Rev. Brc. Clarment Perera, Sectior Commander Navy Anton Rohana Amarasinghe and Brigadler Dahampath Fernando of the Army. *Picture by W.* Wilfed Silka, Jaeg group corr.



The Eighth Dharma Deshanawa of the series of religious talks conducted by the Tharunya-ta Hetak organisation under the concept of its President Namal Rajapaksa to improve the life of remand prisoners was held at the Negomho Prison on Nikini Poya Day. Ven. Kalpe Dharmaloka Thera, Viharadhighahi of Dalupotha Sri Dharmaratanaramaya, Negombo ne Negomho Prison on Nik Dalupotha Sri Dhammar



The opening of Knowledge Centre in Jaffna was held recently. Here Trade, Mariating Development, Cooperative and Consumer Services Minister Bandula Guanawardena and Social Wolfare Minister Davidu Guanawardena and Social Services and Social Wolfare Minister Davidus Devananda open the New Centre for Highe Education in North under the Development Plan or Uthuru Vasanthaya. This was organizes by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka and Institute of Accounts Technicians. Weneyt full scholarships Laffna students were awarded.



Kompeniveediya Ahadiyyah School held its 57th Anniversary and Prize-Giving Celebration at the New Town Hall, Colombo recently. Here Principal of the School Shafwan A Azeez pre-senting a challenge trophy to the winners of the General Knowledge Contest. Picture by Recraft Farone.



The Sri Lankan Council for the Blind organized a ceremony at the Colombo Public Library Auditorium. The Korean Businessmer's Association distributed educational equipment to 30 blind students. Here Subramaniyam from Jaffna receives a consignment of goods from Korean Embasy Counselior Shin Jae Hym. - *Picture by Ishardt A. Samad. Dehmale ML Lumis spl.*





A workshop on gemmology, astrology and astronomy was held recently in Kandy, organised by the Gem and Jewellery Research and Training Institute in collaboration with association of the Gem Industry, Trade, Exports & Services (GITESA) of the Central Province. This work-shop was held under the patronage of Enterprise Development Minister Mano Wijeyerather. After the conclusion of the workshop the Minister warded certificates to the students who had successfully completed a training course in jewellery manufacture. Kandy Mayor LB. Aluvihare, Gem and Jewellery Research and Training Institute Chamma Fizal Razen, QITE-Sta Aluvihare, Gem and Jewellery Research and Training Institute. Onternam Fizal Razen, QITE-Sta Chamarathe and GITESA Secretary, Krishantha Rodrigo were also present.



Havelock Town South Welfare Society No. 1 President - Ananda Abeyvickrama Vice Presidents - Dr. Nihal Abeysundera, Sriya Silva Hony Scertary - Kanjihk Gunasekara Treasurer - AC.M. Fazil Hony Auditor - K.B. Ambanpola.

Old Girls Association of Vihara Maha Devi Balika Vidyalaya, Kiribathgoda

President - Principal Anoma Shamali Abeyrate Co: President - Shanaki Munasinghe Vice - President - Wasundra Namayakkara Secretary - Dinesha Polwatta Assistant Secretary - Gayathri Chandraprema Assistant Tereaturer - Jeewani Kanasinghe Organiser - Chamindira Joewandara Assistant Treasurer - Jeewani Kwerpenghe Sasitan (Daminer - Dullar) Werpenghe Mastiant Organiser - Dullar) Werpenghe Mastiant Organiser - Dullari Werpenghe Internal Auditor - Thanuja Pathirana.

Sri Lanka Federation of NGOs Against Drug Abuse

President: Ifal Abdulla, Vice President: S. Ramachan-dran, Hony, Secretary H.M.S. Herath, Hony Assistant Secretary Rev.F. Jude Bermant Rodrigo, Hony, Tresaurer: Tony Dharmawardena, Ex. Officio: D.P. Mendis, P.C. Chairman National Dangerous Drugs Control Board, S. Dammulla, Immediate Past President.

Dammulla, Immediate Past President. Dr. Maosj Fernando - St. Sumithrayo, Dr. Sarrah M. Samarage - Lions Int. District 306 A, Wen K. Bodananda Diera - Sarvodaya Samodaya, Sangaraya, Deshahandu Olcott Gunasekara - Dharmavijaya Foundation, Pubudu Sumanasekara - ADIC, L. Jayaratne - Sarvodaya Shar-madana Sangamaya, A.T. Nelson Fernando - Power House Sansadaya, T. Senantate - Saviya Development Founda-tion, Anton B, Jeyandim F, Salomba P, Ian Suriety, Salkya Sansadaya, T. Karunadasa - Sakara Karaka, Sakaraka Masociation, D. Karunadasa - Sakaraka - Sakaraka Waasa - Al-Ano Club.



Secretary Sirisena Herath, Executive Director, Drug Contro Board K. Gamage, President, SL FONGOADA, Iflal Abdulla Treasurer, Tony Dharmawardena and Ven. Bodhananda Thera.



The annual prize-giving of Wisdom International College, Beruwala was held recently. Here, Construction and Engineering Services Minister Rajitha Senaratne hands over a prize to a winner. Director of Wisdom College M.H.M. Fowsar is also in the picture. *Picture by EM. Muthata, Berumala spic.corr.*



alal de Silva presents an award to Rev. Harold Southern Province Chief Minister Shan Wije Antony Perera for his services at a ceremony