Udunuwara Wegirikanda Meditation Centre Director Ven. Polpitiye Kassapa Nayaka Thera called on the Most Ven. Udugama Sri Buddharakkitha Mahanayaka Thera of the Asgiriya Chapter at the Asgiriya Viharaya and received his blessings recently. Here Ven. Kaspiriya Viharaya and received his blessings recently. Here Ven. Kaspiriya Viharaya noffering to the Asgiriya prelate after receiving his blessings. Pictora McAmid Tenanevata.

4 60

77-



President Mahinda Rajapaksa testing a modern high definition MPEG film and televisior camera shown by journalist and President Cline-Vision Rohan Weliwita when he called on the President at Temple Trees recently. Weliwita said the camera will be used in the production of the film Susima directed by him and produced by Deshamanya Dr. A.S.P. Llyanage.



Parliamentary Affairs Minister M.H. Mohamed hands over *Pirikara* to Chief Incumbent of Gothatuwa Paramitha Bodhimalu Viharaya Ven. Arama Dhammathillake Nayaka Thera to mark his 86th Intriday. Ven. Atangama Upanamath Thera is also in the picture.

New Galle District MP Chandima Weerakkody addressing postal employees opposite the Galle Post Office at a reception held in his honour recently. *Picture by himal Algementa* 

## Office bearers

Lanka Japan Friendship Society

President - Frederick Mendis Vice Presidents - Deepal G Liyanage, C. Welikala, Joe Aloys Gunaratne, S. D.

Hony. General Secretary - Merrick Gooneratne Hony. Treasurer - M. M. P. S. Guneratne Assistant Secretary - Upali Jayasekera Assistant Treasurer - M. Thiagaraja

## Ratnapura District Cricket Association

Chairman - Premalal Javasekera Secretary - Duminda Edirisinghe
Vice Chairman - Pradeep Thenuwara, Saman vice Chairman - Praoeep Ineniuwara, Saman Sisira Kumara and Damith Batawala Assistant Secretary - Sunil Wijeratna Treasurer - Janaka Gunawardena Assistant Treasurer - Elmo Suriya Arachchi Patrons - Asoka Jayawardena, Ranjith Bandara, Thilanga Sumathipala and Ramachandran.

## Kandy YMBA

President - Gamini Bandara Dodanwola Secretary - G. M. M. G. P. Abeysekera Tressurer - U. L. Piyaratin Assit Secretary - A. U. Munasinghe. Vice Presidents: (Sports) - R. M. Amaranayake, Tissera P. Dayaratne, G. B. Damunupola, P. D. Bandusena and Yasapala Wanasinghe. Librarian - Sarath Kumarasinghe Editor of Sambodhi - Harischandra Publicity Officer - Wimalasurendra Cyril

Committee:
C. B. Aboykoon, Palitha Abeykoon, P. L. Ginige,
Col. L. B. Galahitiyawa, D. P. P. Gunaratne, H. W.
J. Chandrasiri, Raja Jayasinghe, M. G.
Tilakaratne Banda, S. K. Mapalagama, M. S.
Wijekoon, W. M. P. Wijesinghe, P. B. Wijekoon, D.
B. Sakalasooriya, Gamini de Siliva, S. Cyril de
Soyza and H. A. W. Hewawasam.



North Central Province Governor Karunaratne Divulgane inaugurating the National Youth Services Council Flag Day in Anuradhapura by purchasing the first flag from a youth at his office recently. Picture by Walter Dayaratne, Anuradhapura District special corr.



Healthcare and Nutrition Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva cuts a ribbon to open a new Sathosa sales centre at the Chettikulam IDP welfare centre recently. Ministers Bandula Gunawardene and Rishard Bathlyutheen were also present. Picture by T. Vivekarasa, Vavuniya





The prize award coremony to winners of the posters and drawing competition organized to commemorate World Day to Combat Desertification and the community environment workshop was held by Saviya bevelopment Foundation at the Galie Municipal Council Halt. The Here Agricultural Development Minister Hemakumara Nanayakian presents the Rs. 5,000 prize certificate sponsored by Pentium 2000 and the kit of science books provided by National Science Foundation to the first place winner of the junior poster and drawings/competition, Pl.D. Sadaru Venojith of Dharmapala Vidyalaya. Saviya Development Foundation Chairman Winston de Silva and Deputy Director (Research), Dr. Hemantha Wijewardana were also present.



Child Development and Women's Empowerment Minister Sumedha Jayasena and Southern Province Governor Kumari Balasuriya led the Sri Lanka delegation to the International Con-rerence on Gender and Disaster fisik Reduction 2009 held in Beijing, China. Forty eight countries participated in the conference organised by the All China Women's Federation with the United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reductions.



Readymade garments worth Rs. 112.6 million donated by 34 BOI approved garment industries to the Internally Displaced Persons in the IDP villages of Vavuniya were handed over to Nation Building Minister S. M. Chandrasena by the Ministry Secretary W. K. K. Kumarasiri at the Orugodawatta stores complex recently.



Water Supply Minister Mahinda Amaraweera unveils a name-board after inaugurating work on the Gurunnehegeara Warayaya reservoir rehabilitation project in Angunukolapelessa recently. The project will provide irrigation facilities to 35 acres of paddy land in the area.

Journalist Antony Andradi who has completed 25 years as a journalist was feted at a ceremony at Beruwela recently. Here Western Provincial Council member Piyal Nishantha handing over a memento to Andradi during the felicitation ceremony. Picture by B.M. Mukthar - Beruwela Special Corr.





Uva Vidya Vidyalaya chess team won the silver and bronze medals at the Badul-la District Chess Championship tour-nament. Here the team members with teachers Sujeewa Mendis and Evon Darlin. Picture by Anan-da Hapugoda & Ban-darawela Group

# Donation for Galle MC

The Municipalities in Netherlands donated Rs. 15,000,000 worth of equip-ment to the Galle Munici-pal Council. Under the Municipalities of Sri Lanka project, Netherlands Municipalities Federation (VNG Interna-

tional) had donated three four-wheel tractors and terraliers, road roller, mini hydraulic excavator, three three-wheelers, two mopeds, one hardy mac hydro value of Rs. 15,000,000 to host vehicle to the challed minipal Country of the Galle Municipal Country of the Galle Municipal Country of the Confinated the vice to the citizens of Galle vices of Salle vices of the Country of the Saller Vices of the Country of the Country



VNG International Project Manager Jaap Breugen handing over the keys to Galle Mayor Methsiri de Silva. NAAL President S.P.C. Kumarasinghe, NAAL Vice President S. G. Punchi Hewa and Council Members Parakrama Dahanayake and Kumara Dhammika