Daily News Online
Ad Space Available HERE  

DateLine Friday, 6 March 2009

News Bar »

News: DIPLOMATIC CRISIS ...        Political: Vote counting at future polls in respective booths ...       Business: Lanka can play key role at APRSCP - Dr. Shun Fung Chiu ...        Sports: Footage raises new questions about Pakistan attack ...






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Peterites out to avenge last year’s defeat

St. Peter’s will have their last year’s defeat firmly embedded in their minds, and no doubt will try to hit back strongly, while the Josephians will be equally determined to keep their unbeaten record intact when they meet their traditional rivals in their 75th annual ‘big match’ at the P. Sara Stadium for the Rev. Fr. Maurice Legoc Trophy today and tomorrow.

A Peterite win is long overdue as they won last in 1978, under Suraj Abeysekera. The Peterite coach Ranmore Martinesz who captained the Bambalapitiya school in 1986 made his intentions clear that a positive approach to the game at all times will be maintained for them to make their ‘Diamond’ Jubilee ceremony a memorable one.

Last year

The Joes won last year under the leadership of Ruwantha Fernandopulle, while Anuk Silva was the Peterite skipper on that occasion.

St. Joseph’s College. Seated (from left): Prashantha Ranaweera (Master-in-Charge), Kapila Manohara (2nd XI coach), Nishika de Silva, Rev. Fr. Chaminda Wanigasena (Prefect of Games), Shameera Weerasinghe (Captain), Rev. Fr. Sylvester Ranasinghe (Rector), Hareen de Silva (v. captain), Rev. Fr. Sudath Gunatileka (Vice Rector), Treshan Rajasooriya, Harsha de Silva (Coach), Samith Danushka (Junior Coach). First row (standing from left): Vidusha Jayasinghe, Anushka Shakthi, Jaan Jayasinghe, Dinal Dhambarage, Shalindra Perera, Rosco Thattil, Chaturanga Kumara, Ashan Vithanage, Shyan Seneviratne. Second row (from left): Nicole Liyanage, Dinal Fonseka, Enrico Silva, Gihan Dalpadadu, Thilina Sathurukulasinghe, Ramesh Vithanarachchi.

“We have all the ingredients of a match winning outfit, and we have created history by winning 10 matches, which no Peterite side has done in the past. We lost to Ananda in a low scoring match but the team is a well knit combination with a strong batting line up,impressive bowling combination and an agile set of fielders.” said the Peterite coach.

The Peterites have five batsmen who have scored over 700 runs, and fared prominently, namely skipper Angelo Perera, Vinod Perera, Chatura Pieris, Andri Berenger and Shivanga Ranasuriya. Isuru Pieris and Denam Perera too have made useful contributions.

The sides are led by two of the most promising all-rounders in school cricket today, Angelo Perera (St.Peter’s) and Shameera Weerasinghe (St. Joseph’s), both represented the country at under 19 level. Weerasinghe is a bowling allrounder while Perera is a batting allrounder. Both captains are capable of individual brilliance.


This coupled with the support of the other team members of either side, will surely lead to an absorbing contest. Each side will bat for 60 overs only in the first innings and there will be no restrictions of overs in the second innings.

Peterite skipper Angelo Perera heads the batting average with 1,468 runs including five centuries and six 50’s , with a career best 239 against Nalanda. Perera’s double hundred is the highest individual score in the Peterite cricket history. He has also excelled with the ball taking 61 wickets with his left arm spin. Left arm paceman Chatura Pieris tops the bowling taking 80 wickets while Vinod Perera besides his impressive batting has taken 45 wickets.


Josephian skipper Shameera Weerasinghe too, has a remarkable record as an allrounder. He has scored over 900 runs which includes four centuries and three 50’s and has taken over 97 wickets with his right arm leg spin. He has obtained match bags of 10 wickets on four occasions and has taken five wickets in an innings nine times.

St.Peter’s College. Seated (from left): Kitto Fernandopulle (2nd XI coach), Shanaka Fernando (Assistant coach), Rev. Fr. Shamira Cooray (Sports Cordinator), Angelo Perera (captain), Rev. Fr. Travis Gabriel (Rector), Chatura Pieris (v. captain), Ranmore Martinesz (Head Coach), Sanath Chinthaka (Asst. MIC), Wasantha Haputhanthri (Master-in-Charge). 1st Row (standing from left): Hashan Wickremasooriya, Nilochana Perera, Andri Berenger, Vinodh Perera, Shivanga Ranasuriya, Isuru Pieris, Akshu Fernando, Angelo Emmanuel, Denham Perera, Kaushal Rodrigo. 2nd row (standing from left): Shanendra Fernando, Sidath Jayaweera, Aasif Mackie, Ranitha Liyanarachchi, Sampath Kumara, Damien Nadian.

The Josephian coach Harsha de Silva was equally confident of a favourable outcome for the Joes said. “No doubt that the Peterites have a very good side, but when it comes to a ‘big match’ it could be a different ball game with the players of either side rendering more than one hundred percent, it has happened in the past, and the pattern could continue.” said the Josephian coach.

The Josephians have so far played 15 matches and have won 5 and remained unbeaten. They defeated Isipathana, Maris Stella, Negombo, De Mazenod, Kandana, S.Thomas’ and Lumbini. They drew against Ananda in an absorbing contest falling short by 16 runs for an outright win.

The Peterites have registered outright wins over Joseph Vaz, Wennappuwa, Trinity, Kalutara MV, St.Benedict’s, St. Sebastian’s, St. Aloysius’, Galle, Maris Stella, Isipathana, St.Anthony’s, Katugastota and Revatha MV, Balapitiya.


Out of the 74 encounters played so far, the Joes have won 12 to the Peterites 7, with 55 matches drawn. Former Peterite and Leicestershire cricketer Clive Inman’s 204 n.o in 1954 is the highest individual score, while Josephian Shenal Warnakula’s 9 for 41 in 1997 is the best bowling effort . Peterite Dion Walles too, took 9 for 53 in 1947.

St. Peter’s College: Angelo Perera (captain), Chatura Pieris (v. capt), Shivanga Ranasuriya, Vinod Perera, Andri Berenger, Akshu Fernando, Denam Perera, Angelo Emmanuel, Nilochana Perera, Hashan Wickremasuriya, Sidath Jayaweera, Asis Mackie, Isuru Pieris.

St. Joseph’s College: Sameera Weerasinghe (captain), Hareen Silva (v.capt), Treshan Rajasooriya, Nishika de Silva, Vidusha Jayasinghe, Anushka Shakthi, Jaan Jayasinghe, Dinal Dambarage, Shalindra Perera, Rosco Thattil, Chaturanga Kumara, Ashan Vithanage, Shyan Seneviratne, Dinal Fonseka, Enrico Silva, Ramesh Vithanarachchi.


Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
Ceylinco Banyan Villas
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor