Daily News Online
Ad Space Available HERE  

DateLine Saturday, 17 January 2009

News Bar »

News: Defeating terrorists ...        Political: Indo-Lanka relations reaching zenith ...       Business: Lanka’s target - 500,000 Java programmers in 10 years ...        Sports: Sangakkara and Murali shatter Bangladesh dream ...






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Sangakkara and Murali shatter Bangladesh dream

Kumar Sangakkara cracked a solid 59 and Muttiah Muralitharan hammered 33 off 16 balls as Sri Lanka clinched a thrilling two-wicket win over Bangladesh in the tri-series final Friday.

Sri Lanka made a horror start when they lost five wickets for six runs - the lowest score at the fall of the fifth wicket in the history of the one-day game - before surpassing Bangladesh’s total of 152 with 11 balls to spare.

Man-of-the-match Sangakkara kept his cool under pressure to mastermind his team’s win with his 44th half-century. He also added 63 runs for the seventh wicket with Farveez Maharoof, who remained unbeaten with 38.

Bangladesh had an opportunity to clinch their maiden tri-series involving a Test-playing nation when left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan removed Sangakkara and Nuwan Kulasekara in three balls to reduce Sri Lanka to 114-8.

But Muralitharan shattered the hosts’ dream with his amazing power hitting as he plundered 20 runs in an over from teenage paceman Rubel Hossain, including three fours and a six.

The Sri Lankan tail-ender ensured the victory when he smashed Hossain for a four and a six off successive balls in the bowler’s next over before Maharoof ended the match with a single off spinner Naeem Islam in the penultimate over.

Fast bowler Nazmul Hossain (3-30) was instrumental in putting Sri Lanka under pressure, grabbing three of the first five wickets in an incisive opening spell.

The tourists’ batting woes began with the first ball of the innings when veteran opener Sanath Jayasuriya was run out following a mix-up with Upul Tharanga.

The 21-year-old Hossain then rattled Sri Lanka with two wickets in three balls, having Tharanga and skipper Mahela Jayawardene caught by wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim.

Sri Lanka’s batting continued to wobble as Mashrafe Mortaza had Chamara Kapugedera caught by Junaid Siddique in the slips and Hossain bowled Thilan Thushara, but Sangakkara and Muralitharan came to their team’s rescue.

Sri Lanka’s bowlers earlier did a good job when they restricted the hosts to a modest total, with paceman Nuwan Kulasekara (3-19) doing the early damage and unorthodox spinner Ajantha Mendis (3-24) striking in the closing overs.

Raqibul Hasan top-scored with a fighting 43 not out. He also added 53 for the seventh wicket with Naeem Islam (21), the highest stand of the innings. Mohammad Mahmudullah was the other main run-getter with 26.

DHAKA, Friday, AFP

Tamim Iqbal c Sangakkara b Kulasekara		18
Junaid Siddique c Sangakkara b Kulasekara	 1
Mushfiqur Rahim b Kulasekara			 4
Mohammad Ashraful c Sangakkara b Maharoof	13
Shakib Al Hasan c Sangakkara b Thushara		 9
Raqibul Hasan not out				43
Mohammad Mahmudullah b Muralitharan		26
Naeem Islam c Mubarak b Mendis			21
Mashrafe Mortaza c Kapugedera b Mendis		 0
Nazmul Hossain lbw b Muralitharan		 0
Rubel Hossain c Kapugedera b Mendis		 0
Extras (b4, lb2, nb1, w10)			17
Total (for all out)				152
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Siddique), 2-12 (Rahim), 3-34 (Ashraful), 4-42 (Iqbal), 5-54 (S. Hasan), 
6-98 (Mahmudullah), 7-151 (Naeem), 8-151 (Mortaza), 9-151 (N. Hossain), 10-152 (R. Hossain).
Bowling: Kulasekara 8-1-19-3 (nb1, w1), Thushara 7-2-20-1, Maharoof 8-0-33-1 (w3), 
Mendis 9.4-0-24-3 (w1), Muralitharan 10-1-33-2 (w5), Jayasuriya 7-1-17-0.
Overs: 49.4
U. Tharanga c Rahim b N. Hossain	 2
S. Jayasuriya run out			 0
K. Sangakkara c  and b S. Hasan		59
M. Jayawardene c Rahim b N. Hossain	 0
C. Kapugedera c Siddique b Mortaza	 1
T. Thushara b N. Hossain		 1
J. Mubarak run out			16
F. Maharoof not out			38
M. Kulasekara b S. Hasan		 0
M. Muralitharan not out			33
Extras (lb2, w1)			 3
Total (for eight wickets)		153
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Jayasuriya), 2-4 (Tharanga), 3-4 (Jayawardene), 4-5 (Kapugedera), 
5-6 (Thushara), 6-51 (Mubarak), 7-114 (Sangakkara), 8-114 (Kulasekara).
Bowling: Mortaza 10-1-18-1 (w1), N. Hossain 10-3-30-3, S. Hasan 10-2-22-2, 
R. Hossain 9-2-52-0, Naeem 9.1-2-29-0.


Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
ANCL TENDER for CT Machines with Online Processors
Donate Now | defence.lk
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor