Daily News Online

DateLine Friday, 19 October 2007

News Bar »

News: Lanka a success story in battle against terror ...        Political: UNP (D) firmly behind Milinda ...       Business: Bond issue raises investor confidence ...        Sports: Woolmer died from heart disease ...






Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Seetha Devi Hockey Sevens on October 20 and 21

The 16th annual Seetha Devi all Island seven a side schools (boys) and (girls) and Clubs (men and women) hockey tournament organised by Seetha Devi Balika Vidyalaya, Kandy will be worked off at the Bogambara Stadium in Kandy on Saturday and Sunday (October 20th and 21st).

The Chief Guest at the Opening ceremony will be the Governor of the Central Province Tikiri Kobbekaduwa, which will be on Saturday at 9 a.m.

The Chief Guest at the Closing Ceremony will be former St. Sylvesters College, Kandy District and Sri Lanka hockey player and Assistant Superintendent of Police and National Hockey Selector A.H.M. Nazeem. The efforts of Seetha Devi Balika Vidyalaya in organising this tournament for the 16th year in succession must be applauded.

This year they are conducting this tournament which caters to all categories of hockey teams without a sponsor. The budgeted cost of organising this tournament is in the region of Rs. 200,000/- which the Schools Development Society and well wishers have contributed and the school too has dipped deep into its kitty to ensure the continuity of this annual tournament.

The teams which have entered this tournament are:


Girls Under 19: Seetha Devi BV, Yasodara Vidyalaya, President’s College, Nawala, St. Joseph’s BMV, Kegalle, Kalutara BMV, Sangamittha BMV, Matale, Vijaya College, Matale, Christ Church College, Matale, Visakha BMV, Sapugaskanda, Yasodara BV, Gampaha, Pushpadana Girls College, St. Anthony’s Girls College, Kandy, Swarnamali BMV, Girls High School, Kandy, Hemamali BV, Gothami BV, Kandy and Anula Devi BV, Galle.

Boys Under 19: Royal College, Ananda College, Colombo, Nalanda College, St. Peter’s College, St. Benedicts College, Zahira College, Colombo, Asoka Vidyalaya, Colombo, Presidents College, Maharagama, Dharmapala Vidyalaya, Pannipitiya, Isipathana College, Richmond College, St. Aloysius College, Vidyaloka Vidyalaya, Galle, Bandaranayke College, Gampaha, Maris Stella College, Vijaya College, Matale, St. Thomas College, Matale, Kingswood College, St. Syslvesters College, Trinity College, Sri Sumangala College, Kandy, Dharmaraja College, Vidyartha College, Kalaimagal Tamil Vidyalaya, Kandy, St. Thomas College, Matara, Zahira College, Mawanella, Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa.

Clubs: Men: Sri Lanka Air Force, Sri Lanka Army, Sri Lanka Police, Old Thomians SC, Matale, Christ Church Sports Club, Matale, Vijaya Sports Club, Matale, Burghers’ Recreation Club, Colombo, University of Moratuwa, University of Peradeniya, Zahira Sports Club, Matale, Old Rajans Sports Club, Wennappuwa SC.

Women: Seetha Devi Sports Club, Yasodara Sports Club, Colombo, Vijaya Sports Club, Ananda Balika Old Girls’` Association, University of Peradeniya, University of Moratuwa.


Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
Ceylinco Banyan Villas

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries |

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2006 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor