Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Matale CC takes East West Marketing Trophy

CRICKET: Leading Cricket Club from the district Matale Cricket Club underlined their supremacy when they beat Rothmans Cricket Club by five wickets without raising a sweat to lift the East West Marketing Trophy to become champions in the finals of the inter club six a side cricket tournament organised by the Matale District Cricket Association and played at the Bernard Aluwihare Stadium in Matale.

The finals between Rothmans Cricket Club and Matale Cricket Club turned out to be a one sided affair with the former being dismissed for a paltry 34 and the champions hitting off the required runs in just 2.1 overs without losing a wicket with Asanga Thotagamuwa 19 not out and Ruwan Chandraratne 18 not out taking a heavy toll of the Rothmans attack which did not have the killer instinct.

The individual awards went as follow:

Best Bowler: R. S. Chandraratne Matale Cricket Club who captured 4 wickets for 12 runs in 4 matches.

Best Batsman: R. Jayasekera of Urban Youths Cricket Club.

Man of the Finals: Asanga Thotagamuwa - Matale Cricket Club.

Man of the Tournament: Asanga Thotagamuwa - Matale Cricket Club.

Matale Cricket Club Which fields a team in the P. Sara Trophy cricket tournament turned out to be virtually giants in this six a side cricket tournament as they won their group matches without losing a single wicket.

They beat Maroons SC by five wickets and in the next match Malwatte CC also by five wickets. It was only in semi-finals against Singha Sports Club that they were made to fight before they were home by 8 runs.

Priyantha Algama - Chairman - National Development Centre of Sri Lanka Cricket was the Chief Guest and he distributed the awards together with the President of the Matale District CA Upali Sirisena.



Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Financial | Features | Political | Security | Sport | World | Letters | Obituaries | News Feed |

Produced by Lake House Copyright 2006 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor