Budusarana On-line Edition
Silumina  on-line Edition
Sunday Observer


Marriage Proposals
Classified Ads
Government - Gazette
Tsunami Focus Point - Tsunami information at One PointMihintalava - The Birthplace of Sri Lankan Buddhist Civilization

Eheliyagoda Central ruggerites win 13 tourneys in 11 years

Eheliyagoda Central College which started rugby in 1994 have won more than thirteen main Rugby tournaments upto 2005.

This school lads who had not seen or handled the oval shaped balls started their career in rugby through 'The Rugby Development Committee of SLRFU' headed by Y. C. Chang (then Chairman).

In the same year the under 13 Div B won the R. A. Arong Singho Trophy in the Sabaragamuwa All Island Schools rugby tournament and the morale was so high they did not stop at that, and more and more rugby players from Eheliyagoda joined the team for practices.

From 1995 to 1998 the under 13 and 15 won four more trophies in the Sabaragamuwa Province Rugby Tournament held in Ratnapura.

As a result of the team taking part keenly in these tournaments with great determination and dedication they were promoted to the 'A' division in 1997. In 1999 too the under 13 and under 15 won two more trophies in the 10 A side Sabaragamuwa Provincial tournament which was held in the Kelani Valley Grounds.

The Eheliyagoda Rugby Teams under 13, 15, 17 & 19 had a great year when they brought fame to their school by winning all four categories in the Cup Championship at the Sabaragamuwa Provincial 10 A side Rugby tournament held in the Historic Muthuduwa Grounds Ratnapura in 2000.

In 2004 they even showed their colours by taking part in the Div II under 17 10 A side organised by the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association and were able to bag the Bowl Singer trophy.

Finally this year the Under 19 team played superbly by taking part in the Div II All Island Schools Rugby Tournament organised by the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association held in Bandarawela in October 15 and 16 who won the Singer Champions (7s) Trophy in grand style by beating the formidable Lalith Athulathmudali College, (Mt. Lavinia) 21 points to 5.

The credit goes to Arjun Dharmadasa (present Chairman Rugby Development Committee SLRFU) and to his dynamic technical officers B. K. Ramachandra, K. S. P. Karunaratna (Secretary Sabaragamuwa RFU) and Priyantha Gunaratna who did yeoman service to Sabaragamuwa Province rugby players by moulding them into top form.

The SLRFU Rugby Development Committees who had worked so admirably had spread its wings to provinces like Wayamba, Western, North Central, Central and Southern. The Development committee's hard and energetic work was able to bring the Women's rugby Bowl trophy at an International tournament held in Singapore a few months back.

The Eheliyagoda Central College Rugby team posing for an official photograph along with the trophies won for a decade.



| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sports | World | Letters | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2003 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Manager