Budusarana On-line Edition
Silumina  on-line Edition
Sunday Observer


Marriage Proposals
Classified Ads
Government - Gazette
Mihintalava - The Birthplace of Sri Lankan Buddhist Civilization

Highlights of Kingswood-Dharmaraja series

The 99th Battle of the Maroons between Dharmaraja/Kingswood will be played on the 18th and 19th of March 2005 at the Asgiriya International Stadium, Kandy.

This is one of the most looked forward to sporting events in the Hill Capital and is also the oldest Big Match in Kandy. For these two leading educational institutions, it is a fitting climax to the season.

History of 'The Big Match'

These two schools had played matches from 1893 to 1998 and the teams included school boys and also members of staff. The first encounter which included staff members in 1893 was played at Bogambara grounds.

Dharmaraja was led by a member of the staff, the great educationist, Don Baron Jayathilake, later Sir Baron Jayathilake. Kingswood was captained by Spencer.

1899 - First Kingswood vs Dharmaraja match only for schoolboys was played on July 1. Kingswood was captained by T. B. Marshall.

1914 - A. Jayasundera captured 8 wickets for 9 runs as Dharmaraja beat Kingswood by an innings and 17 runs.

1916 - R. Burke 8 wickets for 7 runs as Kingswood beat Dharmaraja by an innings and 24 runs.

1918 - Dharmaraja were shot out for 9 (nine) runs by Kingswood, which to date is the lowest score in an inning in any inter-school match. Similarly Royal had been dismissed for exactly the same score (9 runs) in a Royal-Thomian encounter.

1943 - First century in the series - The distinction of scoring the first century in the series goes to R. L. Arthur Alwis of Dharmaraja College. It is interesting to note that the Rajan's skipper, T. B. Talwatte, was deprived of this honour as he was injured by the Kingswood pace bowler, M. T. Jaimon and Talwatte had to leave the field temporarily during which time Arthur completed his century. Later Talwatte too completed his century. M. T. Jaimon took 5 wickets for ninety (90) runs for Kingswood. The match was won by the Rajans by an innings and 152 runs. Late J. P. Jayasena captained Kingswood.

1951 - Kingswood led by left-hander Shelton R. S. Perera, scored an exciting win over Dharmaraja, having had to score ten runs in six balls and one run in two balls, which they did with a ball to spare. Winning stroke was hit by the captain himself.

1952 - Chandra de Silva scored 158 for Dharmaraja in this match, played at Randles Hill. Asoka Perera scored 148 for Kingswood. The match ended in a draw. de Silva's 158 was the highest individual score in the series up to that date.

1956 - The highlight of the drawn encounter was the bowling feat of M. Nizar of Kingswood who took 6 (six) wickets for 48 runs.

1957 - Kingswood amassed 401 for 9 wickets with Maurice Fernando scoring 101 runs. Dharmaraja replied with 269 runs in the first innings.

1958 - Kingswood defeated Dharmaraja by 10 wickets and was the last time Kingswood defeated Dharmaraja. In this match Kingwood was captained by C. M. Fernando who was selected 'the School Boy Cricketer of the Year'. Dharmaraja was captained by D. D. T. Alwis. The Kingswood opening pair, considered the best among schools, was Maurice Fernando and Herly Jayasuriya. They put on an unbroken stand of 102 runs in the second innings enabling Kingswood to win. Herly scored a brisk 50 while Maurice scored 43 runs.

1959 - C. Ratnavibushana scored 167 for Kingswood which erased the earlier record of 158 the highest individual score.

1960 - The match ended in a tie but Kingswood's Principal, K. M. de Lanerolle, awarded the match to Dharmaraja having gone through the score book for better performance.

1964 - Match was postponed due to rain and the rescheduled game the Rajans were two runs short of victory when stumps were drawn.

1965 - The Jayasundera twins, Ananda and Upananda, played for Dharmaraja. Earlier Kingswood had twins.

1967 - Kingswood skipper Tissa Jayathilake batting well with Mohan Kodituwakku, declared the innings still short of 9 runs of a century, which would have earned him the distinction of scoring consecutive centuries having scored an unbeaten 100 in the 1966 match. Another feature in this match was the bowling of left-arm spinner Sena Abeygunaratne, who captured 7 (seven) wickets for 32 runs in the Dharmaraja 1st innings of 143 runs.

1976 and 1977 - P. B. Wickremasuriya of Kingswood and Ajith Naranpanawe of Dharmaraja entered the record books by scoring centuries in both years thus becoming the only two players to score centuries in consecutive matches.

1981 - B. Z. Sheriffdeen scored a century for Kingswood.

1983 - Senaka Dissanayake scored a double century for Dharmaraja, 200 the only double century in the series, stands as the highest individual score for the series.

1985 - Mangala Dharmaprema the Kingswood captain, scored a century and also completed 1,000 runs for the season during the big match.

1994 - Dayal Dharmaprema, younger brother of earlier Kingswood skipper, Mangala, took six wickets for 38 runs in the Dharmaraja 1st innings score of 153 runs, the match was drawn.

2001 - First one day match played in colour outfits Anuradha Jayasundera.



| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sports | World | Letters | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2003 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Manager