Thursday, 28 October 2004  
The widest coverage in Sri Lanka.











Mihintalava - The Birthplace of Sri Lankan Buddhist Civilization

Government - Gazette

Silumina  on-line Edition

Sunday Observer

Budusarana On-line Edition

Achala and Laksiri named Policewoman and Policeman of the year

by Sarath Malalasekera

Woman Sub Inspector Achala Dias and Police Sergeant R. M. C. P. Laksiri were named Policewoman and the Policeman of the year 2004 at the Police Colours Night and Awards Ceremony held at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (BMICH) on Monday.

Achala and Laksiri received their awards from IGP Chandra Fernando, the chief guest at the Police Colours Night and Awards ceremony. Western Province South DIG K. P. P. Pathirana,Chairman Badminton and Cycling, received a special award from the IGP for his excellence service to sports. DIG Pathirana is also the President of the Sri Lanka Cycling Federation and President of the Kotte Football League.

Former IGPs Anna Seneviratne, Frank de Silva, T. E. Anandarajah and Indra de Silva being present at the Police Colours Night added more colour to the event. The Sri Lanka Police Reserve Dancing Troupe and the Upul-Channa Dancing Troupe performed together with the 'Pooja' and 'Dialogue of Drums' dancing items.

The Police Department has had an admirable long history to help successive Governments, maintain law and order in the country. The Police women and men who have actively been involved in various sports have proved to be disciplined Public Servants. A healthy body creates a healthy mind and helps officers of Ranks to discharge their duties efficiently. From that standpoint, sports is important for the development of a Police Officer's attitude of mind to discharge impartially, effectively and in a friendly manner, his or her duties as a Public Servant, IGP Chandra Fernando told the award winners.

He said the Police Colours Night and Award ceremony is an event that many Policemen and Policewomen look forward to and recalled a few notable names of Policemen and policewomen who excelled in their own fields of sports and salute them.

I remember today, T. B. Kehelgamuwa, Franklin Burke, Hugh Begot, Edward Kellart, Vernon Prince, Herby Jayasuriya, Neil Weerasinghe, L. M. P. de Silva, Carlyle de Silva and Juranpathy, (Cricket), L. I. de Silva (Tennis), Sumith Liyanage, C. P. Jayasuriya. C. H. Jayasuriya and D. Weerakkon (Boxing), Anton Benedict, Sidney de Soysa, S. Sivendran and Nimal Lewke (Rugger), D. T. M. Senarath, M. C. Mendis, Nimal Fernando and Ivor Botheju (Athletics), M. Sivaratnam (Football). Many of them have now gracefully bowed out and are in retirement, the IGP added.

IGP Fernando congratulated the organisers of the Police Colours Night and Award ceremony for their painstaking effort to make the event a memorable success.

Police Sports Club Secretary and Police Sports Director Senior SP L.A. Perera said that sportsmen and sportswomen of the Police Department are provided with all facilities to develop their skills in the respective areas of sports and to compete locally and internationally. This Colours Awards ceremony features the achievements made in twenty-five recognised sports by the Police Department.

Field Force Headquarters DIG Punya de Silva and his team had done a wonderful job by organising the colourful Police Colours Night and Awards ceremony. Manilka Philips and Shane Silva were the comperes.

ANCL Tender - Web Offset Newsprint

Pizza to SL - order online

News | Business | Features | Editorial | Security
Politics | World | Letters | Sports | Obituaries

Produced by Lake House
Copyright 2003 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.
Comments and suggestions to :Web Manager

Hosted by Lanka Com Services