Tuesday, 2 June 2009


Features | Online edition of Daily News - Lakehouse Newspapers <%dim dbpath, pageTle, Section, Section1 %>

After curtains fell on Raigam Tele Awards 2008...

The Raigam Tele Awards initiated by the Kingdom of Raigam for the fifth consecutive year came to a finale recently amidst glitz and glamour. The gala ceremony which is aimed at felicitating the great creations, artistes and crew of the tele field was a crowd puller as 40 awards were handed over to the winners.

The group also introduced five new awards: upcoming actor of the year, upcoming actress of the year, best humorous piece of acting, award for special creative talent - single episode tele-drama and award for the most talented child artiste.

Janak and Nilmini. Pictures by Malan Karunaratne

Deepani with her special jury award and Irangani with her special award of appreciation

Prime Minister Ratnasiri Wickramanayake was the Chief Guest of the occasion which was also attended by Minister of Agricultural Development Maithripala Sirisena, Minister of Trade Bandula Gunawardene, Minister of Highways T.B. Ekanayake, Minister of Cultural Affairs Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Minister of Industrial Development Kumara Welgama, Minister of Water Supply Mahinda Amaraweera, Minister of National Integration Vinyagamurthi Muralidharan, Governor of Northern Province Dixon Dela Bandara and Governor of Central Province Karunaratne Divulgane.

Sudath Rohana’s Karuwala Gedara topped the list in the nominations for the best teledrama while veteran actor Janak Premalal clinched the best actor award for his performance as Thinan.

Popular actress Nilmini Thennakoon bagged the best actress award for her role, Tikiri Manika, in Handawa.

In the most popular category, last year’s winner Amila Abeysekara managed to hang on to his title while the petite Nehara Peries emerged as most popular actress. Muthu Kirilli was voted as the most popular mega teledrama while Sathara Dennek Senpathiyo carried away the award for the most popular teledrama of the year.

The Prathibha Prabha Pranama Award was given to veteran Titas Thotawaththa and special awards of appreciation were handed to veteran technician K.N. Gunawardhana and actress Irangani Serasinghe. Swarnavahini emerged as the channel of the year.

Speaking to the media at a gathering held last week Chairman\CEO of The Kingdom of Raigam Ravi Liyanage thanked everyone who had contributed towards making the ceremony a success.

“We started on a small scale but we have gradually improved each year, adding unique features to our event. Raigam Tele awards had come as far as to reach national heights,” he said.

Raigam Managing Director Ganaka Amarasinghe added that the team’s challenge is to find a location to hold the annual tele awards festival next year.

“We were told that the BMICH will be renovated this time next year so we need to find a venue which will suite the glamorous event and have facilities to pack a large crowd,” he commented.

Speaking on behalf of the jury which comprises Dr. Patrick Rathnayake, Dr. Ajantha Hapuarachchi, Jayantha Rukmani Siriwardana, Chandrasiri Bogamuwa and Visharada Edward Jayakody, Dr. Ratnayake said that they worked painstakingly to make the best decision in picking the winners out of the abundance of talent presented to them.

“It had not been an easy task but apart from a few references from a particular director, we have not been pressurized to make any decisions in favour of anyone. We discussed and came to an agreement by grading the creations and performances. The organizers of the event had been very supportive and did not question our verdict in any manner,” he revealed.

One of the unique features of the Raigam Tele Awards is the theme which underlines the whole set up. This year it was Sigiriya which the one of Sri Lankan natural heritages, a fortress constructed by King Kashyapa.

It was chosen by the team to project its importance contribution to art in general and poetry in particular by inspiring wanderers through its ancient frescos. It was indeed a night of celebrations of talent, glamour, joy, hope, surprises and inspiration for many of those who took part.

Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2006 - 2013 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor